What do you think?

Here’s a link to Barack Obama’s church.

One short quote from the church site:

“We are a congregation which is Unashamedly Black and Unapologetically Christian… Our roots in the Black religious experience and tradition are deep, lasting and permanent. We are an African people, and remain “true to our native land,” the mother continent, the cradle of civilization. God has superintended our pilgrimage through the days of slavery, the days of segregation, and the long night of racism. It is God who gives us the strength and courage to continuously address injustice as a people, and as a congregation. We constantly affirm our trust in God through cultural expression of a Black worship service and ministries which address the Black Community.”

Would a caucasian candidate (of any political persuasion) in this day and age get anywhere near the whitehouse if they attended a self-proclaimed unashamedly white congregation? I’m seriously asking this.

I have black siblings so a candidate who attended an unashamedly white church would be absolutely unstomachable [new word!] to me… I feel equally skittish (to say the least) about anyone who has a special and stated committment to one race over any others. I think a president ought to have a special committment to people of all races that are under his authority.

I don’t know enough about Mr. Obama to have a real opinion of him, though I’m sure I disagree with him on plenty just based on his political affiliations. Still, this is an honest question. Not a pot shot.

Technorati Tags:
,

13 thoughts on “What do you think?”

  1. What bothers me more is that the first thing they want to post on their home page is not . . . Christ. Hello? Whom are we worshipping here?That said, yes, you are correct that the reverse of these sentiments are political poison and would disqualify a candidate for anything but county dog-catcher.But the history of the races and racism in our country is not equal, to say the least. You’ll see a lot of overblown rhetoric in the name of “empowerment” and “self-esteem.” It will probably continue until the next fashionable panacea comes along. I think it’s abominable, but it’s not as objectionable as its opposite would be. It will probably become an issue if Obama continues as a viable candidate.Sharon H. in IL

  2. Double Standard. I see alot of it in political correctness.So many who promote tolerance are only tolerant of people who think the same as they do.

  3. I think what ya’ll might want to look at — and what they no doubt see as the primary statement — is their mission statement. Sharon, it’s possible that they figured they had Christ properly glorified in the actual name of the church and in what appears to be an expansion of the mission statement in the ten-point vison of the church. (Looks like it’s fairly bare bones with certain parts (adoration of whom? salvation by what means?) left as assumed. Nan, you might be surprised at his positions and tone, affiliations aside. I’m just now getting to know some of them (my son is a big early supporter), but he’s capturing bits of what I think it means to be a true statesman, and his lack of “shrill” is refreshing.

  4. Wow, sorry — that was me (SFSOM) above. I didn’t know that was my public identity name. Sorry, Pamela (the real one). Didn’t mean to make it look like I was using your posting name.

  5. I definitely find him to be intellectual anyways. I really haven’t studied him enough though. Just as an impression, I like him more than many past democratic candidates… just in how he comes across. Dignified. Respectful. Calm.I need to read up on him more. But I probably won’t shock you by mentioning out loud that I am fairly strongly republican (historically speaking.) But I really do my best to look at candidates individually on their own merits no matter what party they hail from. :^)

  6. Hi, Nan. I had the same reaction you did. I also agree with Sharon’s statement. The website states that the congregation is Unapologetically Christian. How many of the concepts listed have anything to do with Christ?I currently attend a church that is racially mixed. The focus of the church is Christ and nothing else. It’s amazing. So many churches are racially segregated and I’m sure in most cases it isn’t by design. This church seems proud to be so. It is sad to see.

  7. I find this odd (disturbing?, unsettling?) on so many levels. A Couple:1. Sen. Obama’s father was African and his mother is an American of European descent (aka, she’s white). His step-father is Indonesian. Since politicians often do things in a calculated way, why is he allowing himself to be used by the African-American community to represent all African-Americans (and blacks, lets face it, not everyone the society terms “African-American” is of African descent)? Why his he not banking on his family history’s mixed ethnic backgrounds? Wouldn’t he rather be viewed as the “everyman”? Not to mention, that the statementconcerning slavery which has no relevance to Sen. Obama’s familiy history. I know that this is his church’s statement and not a personal one, but he ascribed to them when he became a member of the church.2. The church refers to Africa as its “mother land” and says that they want to be “‘true to our native land'”. Two thoughts come to mind when I hear this: 1) are they part of the “back to Africa” movement? or 2) are they part of the “make this the new Africa” movement? Why would a candidate for President want to align himself with a church (or any other group) that seems to have its root loyalties on another continent?To be honest, I am sick of the whole race thing. I know his skin is a different color than mine. I have eyes. I am not color blind. Tell me who you are not what you look like. Tell me what you think not your ancestry. You want me to vote for you, not your grandparents. I want to know why he’s qualified to be President… telling me his race only tells me that he intends to help keep racism alive by perpetuating its lingo.Off my soapbox. It is way to early to be trying to think logically.Blessings,me

  8. PC double-standardness.Here’s betting it is just something he does to get votes. I’ve heard him on the radio several times and there was NOTHING about this. If I’d been a supporter (white, non-believer) I’d feel kicked in the shins. Here’s hoping he’s a “6 month wonder”.

  9. Relax Anon. We’re just talkin’. I followed a link to the church from another internet conversation and some of the stuff from the site stuck out to me. I haven’t read *anything* else on the subject. I posted based on my initial reactions to what I saw on the website. I haven’t heard or read anything except for what is on the church website.I think it’s a good conversation. :^DThanks for the link. I skimmed it and will read more later.

  10. One of the things that people who are not African-American fail to realize is that the Black Church is part of our identity. What Obama was doing was not exclusionary by any stretch of the imagination. It was an attempt to encourage Black folks. And in spite of what many think today, unfortunately, race happens to be a touchy and painful topic today. In the meantime, African-Americans as a group are the only ones who can encourage themselves. And why is that needed? We are still a minority in a majority culture who is still discriminated against, no matter what people think. The Black Church is part of our culture. As a Black man, Obama was encouraging Black folks. The fact that he was encouraging his own should not be seen as a dig against another people. Nor should he be viewed as not having a commitment to all people. He clearly showed he did a few years back. I don’t mean to come off strongly, however, unless you’ve lived in the shoes of an African-American, it’s hard to understand where he’s coming from.

What are your thoughts?

