BEHOLD!!! My new refrigerator!

Yes, folks. That’s right. You are looking at the modern day refrigerator. At least in my home it serves partly as a refrigerator. You see, we somehow joined the ranks of stainless steel appliance snobs when we moved into our new home that came fully equipped, including all the appliances. Besides the fact that they get awfully messy looking much faster than traditional white or almond or harvest gold or split pea green appliances, I really do like the look of them.


However, they have one serious downfall. One fatal flaw. One reason that I and my children hate them. Magnets do not work on them. This does save the refrigerator from becoming a vertical filing cabinet and it does guard against the purchasing of magnets at every state or big city we ever visit.

But it also keeps us from displaying any art work or school work done by my little cherubic faced children. It cannot hold and display for all who enter that I am proud of my children and their accomplishments. We can never again have a set of colorful magnetic letters with which to spell ridiculous words on the fridge, leaving them there until someone comes over and looks askance at us wondering why we would have the children spelling things like “rhino toe nails.” It really is a sad state of affairs.

However, the advent of the laptop and the blog have really served well to save us from this terrible fate. No, it does not stay in my kitchen and hold all of my food (though it is my recipe box) and it doesn’t have water and ice in the door.

But I can display their art on it! My three year old, a few days ago, came up to me with a piece of paper with a million tiny scrawls on it, including some of the letters in his name and some small round people with disproportionately long legs. It was perfect. It was refrigerator-worthy. Knowing that his brothers’ pieces of work have ocassionally been shared with the “world” via Mom’s blog, He walked over to me and said, “Mom, this is for you! I made it for you! Would you put this in your computer?” He then began searching for a tiny slot in which to slip his special paper, trying to stuff it into the small slits around the edges. “We need to get this in there Mom. How do we do it?”

How could this melt my heart? I don’t know. But it was then that I realized that my computer was my new refrigerator. Therefore you will ocassionally be blessed with more of my kids’ art projects, school papers and drawings. Blame the folks who lived in our house before us… they could have gone for harvest gold but nooooo, they wanted to be hipsters and turn us into stainless steel snobs. We’re paying for it now folks.

Sadly, I don’t have the exact paper anymore but I’ll try to post one like it sometime soon.

Technorati Tags:
, , ,

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Amy @ the foil hat March 14, 2007 — 9:28 am

    LOL – I have serious appliance envy! Our fridge remains the sloppy vertical filing cabinet. 😉

  2. Lisa from TTC Grads March 14, 2007 — 3:55 pm

    Hi Nan I am actually posting here. I just love the new color on your background. That was too sweet that he was trying to actually fit the artwork “into” your computer.Can’t wait to see more of your boys great artwork.

  3. Hi! Thanks for visiting me at my blog! We DO have lots in common! I love homeschool and the craziness in my house. I need Calgon today!

  4. Looks like an Apple Cornpooter to me. Am I missing something here?

  5. Hee hee! That’s too cute.I once put my name and address on a piece of paper and slipped them inside our TV in an attempt to order some Disney books. They never came. I guess the TV people don’t talk to the Disney people. :)Looking forward to the first exhibit at your virtual art museum!

  6. I don’t have kids but my fridge is still covered.I am always removing stuff the hubby puts up there.. like coupons and notes.

What are your thoughts?

