In Other Words…


I never participate in these, but this one caught my eye.

“Every time you make a choice you are turning the central part of you, the part of you that chooses, into something a little different from what it was before…either into a creature that is in harmony with God,…or into one that is in a state of war with God. Each of us at each moment is progressing to the one state or the other.”

C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

People talk about being carbon neutral. It’s all the rage right now. The big buzzword of the year. I really don’t think this is possible even with our best efforts. We are always consuming something and there will always be a certain amount of waste no matter what we do. We can try to even out the score a bit by recycling or reusing or changing our habits to a degree but ultimately there will always be some amount of waste, meaning that even at our best, we are never truly neutral with regards to our consumption, reuse and output of waste.

I was reading this weekend in the book, Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Ted Tripp about this very concept. About the Godward orientation of our childrens’ hearts.

Our children, as we ourselves, are never neutral before God. We are always bowing to something or someone. The point in the book is that we, as parents, ought to be seeking out ways to communicate to our children what the current orientation of their hearts are and ways that we might encourage the direction if it is properly alligned or help to recalibrate it if the spiritual compass is not pointing due north in worship and worshipful living.

I love this book because it is constantly reminding me that my position before God is very like my childrens’ positions before him. Our brotherhood/sisterhood in Christ trumps the parent child relationship that we enjoy. I’m always encouraged when reading this book that I ought to be recalibrating my own position before God before I try and recalibrate theirs. If I do not have a proper Godward orientation, I will be of no help to them in the spiritual wilderness of their childhood faith.

Neutrality is impossible. Either we are bowing at the feet of the one true God or we are making for ourselves an idol at whose feet we intend to bow. Some people might strive to live in a perfect balance where they feel they are giving God a portion, themselves a portion, others a portion. Ultimately striving to live in neutrality though, is going to leave us feeling wasted and depleted more than anything. We must be seeking first his kingdom and his righteousness and the other things that we so readily worship will, if they are glorifying to him, be given to us as well that we might serve him with them.

Matthew 6:33 says, “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

Luke 16:12-14 says, “And if you have not been trustworthy with someone else’s property, who will give you property of your own?

“No servant can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.”

The Pharisees, who loved money, heard all this and were sneering at Jesus.”

If only this were just about money though. I confess I long for things that aren’t necessarily of God. They aren’t bad things in and of themselves but when they become something that I strive towards as an end rather than a means to an end, that end being to glorify God and enjoy Him, I am serving them as an idol. It cannot be wrong for us to pursue goals of all kinds, unless they are intrinsically sinful and are not profitable for service to God. But if we strive to attain personal goals merely for personal contentment or self-satisfaction, they are then becoming that which we serve rather than that with which we serve.

If you would like to participate in this In Other Words go to the host’s blog, Fruit in Season.

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow Nan! That post was so spot on! Thank you for taking the time to pull your thoughts together. I will have to check that book out!

  2. Great post! I LOVE Shepherding a Child’s Heart. It changed me as a parent. Thanks for visiting my blog. I love your blog design!

  3. I love the idea of “recalibrating” first ourselves and then our children toward God. I have never read the book you spoke of but I have heard so many great things about it! It’s going on my reading list right now!

  4. Wow! That really hit me! I need to begin talking to my toddler about pleasing God and having a heart focused on Him (in 2 year old terms, of course:)–I suppose it’s never to early to start.I will be reading that book very soon! I linked to your blog from JennaG’s site! It’s nice to meet you!God Bless You!

  5. You are so right that when we are not placing God first than we are simply idolizing. I love C.S. Lewis and such a wonderful quote.I have a fake carbon neutral button on my blog as a complete joke. If you notice it does not go anywhere, which is is really how being carbon neutral is…gets you no where. I am so glad to have run into on the blogosphere.

  6. Awesome post, really enjoyed reading your thoughts on this.

  7. Wow!! Stuff to think about today! I must confess that I’m laying my dilemma of wanting what God has for me, materially speaking, vs. fear that those things will corrupt me. I know that’s a possibility, but God knows what I can handle and what will handle me. He also knows what I need to get the job done of glorifying Him.I found you through JennaG and will surf around some more. Nice to “meet” you.

  8. can’t be lukewarm. You’re either hot or cold.. there is not fense post… you either are for or against God… isn’t that the truth? Great post!

  9. Thank you all so much for visiting and commenting! It’s been a joy “meeting” each of you too! I hope to see you all more often here and out in the blogosphere!Grace and Peace

  10. Thanks for this line… “If I do not have a proper Godward orientation, I will be of no help to them in the spiritual wilderness of their childhood faith.”That is wonderful food for thought that I’ll be meditating on this week. Thanks.

  11. Terri @ In His Hands March 28, 2007 — 6:06 pm

    Great post! I just read a review of that book the other day–I’m going to order it tonight!I’m enjoying your site! You have so many great links and when I have more time I’ll have to read more of your posts.

What are your thoughts?

