Mark your calendars people!!

If you have been here for any amount of time you already know that Ree at Confessions of a Pioneer Woman is my all time favorite blogger. She quickly becomes just about every body’s favorite blogger once they get their boo-hineys over there and read her stuff, see her photography and find that they have the sudden urge to spend 12 hours at a time reading her archives. I have been plugging Ree’s blog for about as long as I’ve been blogging because when she started her blog I had only been blogging for a couple of months myself. Her readership quickly multiquintuplicated from a handful of us to what it is now, at a humble 9,000 page views a day.

This coming Monday she will be celebrating one year of blogging. And to celebrate she will be hosting one of her famous photo naming contests. These contests are not just any little old contest. They are hilarious. The pictures are usually quite memorable. The 900 to 1000 entries will make you want to pee your pants laughing and the suspense, waiting to find out who the lucky winner will be, rivals the anticipation of waiting for labor pains to begin so much so that now, when I say to my husband, “Honey, it’s time!” he knows I’m not about to have a baby but that I am talking about one of Ree’s Photo naming contests. He begins rushing around, grabbing clean towels, boiling water and… Okay so he just starts getting an ulcer like I do because though creativity comes naturally to both of us, something like panicked excitement comes over us and robs us blind of all our senses, gives us all manner of intestinal angst and causes our synapses to cease firing, until we finally think of the one thing we would like to name the photo. And neither of us ever win. Imagine all of that build up and still losing every time? And yet, we enthusiastically dive repeatedly into the whole affair whenever one such contest is announced.

Past prizes have been:

So when I read her announcement today:

Now For An Important Announcement: In honor of the First Anniversary of this bizarre, ridiculous, maladjusted website, I’m holding a Special Edition “Give That Photo a Name” Contest next Monday! Tell your friends. Tell your family. Tell your Orkin man and your insurance adjuster and your third grade teacher. The prize will be…a special surprise. But here’s a little hint: It was once a part of my soul.

Don’t miss it!

I had no choice but to pass the word on to you!

4 thoughts on “Mark your calendars people!!”

  1. I LOVE her blog. In fact, she inspire me to spend a small fortune on a good camera…but my photos don’t looke like her’s (yet!). Of course, I don’t have any wild mustangs or cows or cowboys to photograph either..ha!

  2. Lauren, thanks for the heads up! I left a comment at your place. :^)Jill, thanks for stopping by! It’s always nice to see a new face in the comments! Oh and about that small fortune… I think I’m about to do the same thing!

What are your thoughts?

