Pictures of Progress

I just wanted to share some pictures of the amazing progression of our landscaping project that we started last year after moving into our new house.

I don’t have pictures from before we did anything at all but this is the closest I have to a “before.” LOTS OF CLAY DIRT (or EVIL clay as I call it), which required lots of pick-axing, digging, wheelbarrowing…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Then there came the building of the deck. Oh, no… this was not really a separate time… It all happened in the same summer with the help of the same wonderful people whom we are blessed to call friends.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Then as snow clouds hung in the Canadian sky and began to let its icy inhabitants loose into the air in early October, my dear friend who made all of this possible and I knelt on hands and knees all bundled up, knives in hand (for cutting the sod), to make sure this settled in before winter did.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Then we had a lot of this stuff for a long (long) time.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Then we hosted a work party where we fed our wonderful friends hamburgers and salsa (the making of which burned my ever lovin’ hands off so that I was rendered almost completely useless for the rest of the day as far as planting things) and they helped us do this.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

(That lady in the purple shirt is the genious behind this beautiful yard. We owe all our thanks to her [and her husband who helped an awful lot too!])

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And now we get to look out our windows and see this…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And this… (sorry this one is sideways.)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

^ That’s my first flower (on one of my Clematis vines.) ^

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Thanks for letting me share! And thanks to all of our friends for all their help! And thank you especially to my dear friend who made this whole project possible, start to finish. I’ll probably post a few more pictures when all the flowers are blooming.

14 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Stacy at Exceedingly Mundane May 22, 2007 — 5:54 pm

    Wow, this all looks fantastic! Tons of work but what great results – I love your deck 🙂

  2. Wow! You did a great job! It is beautiful!

  3. I love the deck too..and your yard looks amazing. We too had hard “cement” dirt in our backyard…3 years later it is all coming together and is looking like a garden. Thanks for sharing your journey.

  4. Nancy, That looks so great! I need you and your friend to come to my house! That deck is great! This summer, you’ll be able to sit back and enjoy all the labors!

  5. Wow – they all did a fantastic job. Looks lovely

  6. Beautiful yard. You all did a great job!

  7. You have a very wonderful yard! I know you will enjoy it this summer.

  8. That looks great. Amazing transformation.

  9. Wow! Everything looks great! I’ll bet you are really enjoying your deck. My husband and a couple friends are beginning to build our deck this weekend. Hooray!

  10. That looks amazing! And what great friends to help y’all with it.I live in the deep south so don’t know if I could deal with all that snow you showed in one pic!

  11. Very very nice!!!

  12. Thanks everyone! We are so glad that now we will just be able to ENJOY it!

  13. landscaping is fun fun fun… especially when I’M NOT DOING IT.We still have some work to do on ours after last years septic tank drama.I’m anxious to see how the boys treat this beautiful work of art ? ? ? ?

  14. Pamela, First I have to tell you I love your picture with your gardening hat on. SO cute! I told my Mom she needed to become one of your regular blog readers because I think you two have a couple of things in common. Hopefully she’ll read over there… Second, to answer your question, so far the boys are doing *really* well with the yard. We are raising up a bunch of little botanists and they enjoy watching all of the different plants grow and change. They know a lot of the names and get all excited with me when we see something blooming (lordy, I hope my flowers survive this stupid snow!!) I think they’ll do pretty well. We have lots of parks and green space not far from our house for them to run and get wild at so they know the yard is to be a beautiful place… though I must admit I feel sort of guilty for taking pretty much all of their digging spots. But now they are learning about digging with a purpose. They’ll be excited in the fall when we plant all the tulip bulbs I plan on burying. :^D

What are your thoughts?

