Apronpalooza! CONTEST #2: Practically Necessary

I tell you, until a couple of weeks ago I simply did not realize how many truly charming aprons there are out there these days. The ones you see in stores tend to be very standard in the way of shape and screen printed or stamped with an image or design. The aprons I’ve come across over the past couple of weeks will truly make you look at wearing an apron as something more than preparing yourself to cook and protecting your clothes.

Kerry at Practically Necessary creates beautifully unique apron designs that are both, as the name implies, practical and necessary! And I think once you have seen all of the aprons on her site and at my blog all throughout this week, you will begin to agree that the way an apron makes you feel, how it reflects your personality and feeling excited to put it on are practically necessary considerations to make when deciding which apron you are going to put on for which purpose.

Kerry “first started to love sewing when she began her first project, a narrative quilt based on The Scarlet Letter.” Kerry makes all of her “aprons with great attention to detail in limited editions of 10 or less.”

Practically Necessary aprons have a truly romantic vintage feel to them. I absolutely LOVE this one. I don’t know who I would feel like when I put one on but I think I would have the distinct urge to cook something that could be served from the back of a chuckwagon. And I SO mean that in the good way! Somethin’ tells me the man in your life would be well fed if this apron happens to inspire you the way it does me…


This one is just perfection. And I love it that each of Kerry’s aprons have the beautiful Practically Necessary tag on the waist.


(UPDATED:) Winner #1 for this contest will have their pick between this dishy little number, aptly named, “Kitty Kitty.” Okay, so I’m not even a cat person but I love this apron. Now, even if for some reason you can’t picture yourself wearing this apron, remember that aprons make wonderful and unique wedding shower gifts. This could be the inspiration for a wonderful kitchen package for any young bride.


or this popular apron, the Caroline.

Winner #2 (Oh, yes… you heard me right!) Kerry is also offering this actual vintage apron inspired by a line from The Lord’s Prayer.

To Enter this Contest:

1) Visit the sponsors website, have a look around and then leave a comment here telling me which Practically Necessary apron is your favorite!
2) You may enter this contest only once.
3) This contest’s deadline is Friday, June 8th at 11:59 P.M. Pacific Time
4) Do NOT post anonymously. Anonymous posters will not be entered into the drawing.
5) A winner will be chosen by random drawing (for more info. on this, read this post)

36 Comments

Add yours →

  1. there were too many to choose just one favorite. in collection #1, i’d have to go with Anne. its my name and i have decorated my kitchen with vintage images of fruits and vegetables.in collection #2, it would be kitty, kitty. it reminds me of my black cat Dukie.in the full aprons, i love the old homestead apron.

  2. i like the simplicity of the caroline.

  3. Homestead… it has at least one cow on it!Blessings, Kim

  4. I absolutely love the cockadoodledoo apron

  5. The Libby half apron. Love the colors!

  6. I like the “Sprinkle” one!Mark Kientzler

  7. I love the Pocketless Polly apron…it’s like a pretty skirt!

  8. I think Barbara Anne is my fav. So pretty!

  9. I think Practically Necessary’s prettiest apron is the Barbara Anne, though the Callie is pretty cool, too!

  10. Wendy WaterBirde June 7, 2007 — 9:38 pm

    Oh she really does have sweet aprons! Favorites from her site itself are firsthttp://www.practicallynecessary.com/sprinkle.htmland second:http://www.practicallynecessary.com/saturdaybaked.htmlFavorites from this page itself are the Lords Prayers apron first, and the kitty second : ) Here’s hoping again : ) Wendy

  11. Cockadoodle or the Kitties…I love the embroidery work on Cockadoodle!

  12. I like both the Bev and the Caroline.

  13. Practically Necessary Favorite:Anne

  14. It’s hard to pick. I really wish I had a skirt like the Barbara Ann, but the Cockadoodle is way cool.

  15. My vote is for the Barbara Ann. Love the colors!

  16. The Cockadoodle apron is awesome!

  17. Jana (sidetrack'd) June 8, 2007 — 4:20 am

    Caroline and Martha are both just lovely.

  18. I’d love a full apron (Caroline) but “Sprinkle” is so cute…

  19. Barbara Ann! SO springy!

  20. Fairweather Jane is me to a T!

  21. i agree…the caroline is so perfect!

  22. Once again…so hard to decide, but I loved the “Libby” full apron! So cute!

  23. Oh, the Caroline for sure!

  24. No Pocket Polly is my favorite! Tres chic!

  25. The Caroline is my favorite – love those greens!

  26. Cockadoodle Doo Apron-I love you.

  27. Barbara Ann! So cute!

  28. LOVE Barbara Ann!

  29. sara - The Estrogen Files June 8, 2007 — 3:32 pm

    I like them all! Sprinkle is my favorite, but I don’t think that it would fit my “current condition”… (grin)

  30. Cockadoodle-so cute!

  31. Cockadoodle

  32. I love Fairweather Jane,Lori B

  33. I like the Caroline best.

  34. The Caroline is Awesome!!

  35. LOVE the Barbara Ann!!

  36. I love the Saturday Baked because that’s when I bake. Thanks for the contest, Nan. And loved the Highland pix awhile back.

What are your thoughts?

