Various things that you probably don't care about and will forget as quickly as you navigate away from my blog…

Hooray! I got my computer back today! However, a couple of days ago, my husband and I decided to upgrade to a desktop. My laptop days are over. Done. Finito. That last blip with my laptop was not covered by our extended warranty and though it was fixed and my laptop should, theoretically, be as good as new I have just decided that a sensitive laptop cannot stand up to life with four children very well, not that I ever let them touch it.

So my desktop should be arriving any day now. I will be selling my laptop (anyone need a 2 1/2 year old laptop?!) to help defray the cost. But here’s the fun thing; look what I got for free with my computer purchase!

Oh and the fun part is that they offered to personalize it too. My husband refused to tell the sales service guy at Mac what I wanted engraved on my pink iPod. He balked and stuttered and in the end handed me the phone, unable to complete the request on his own steam because he said it was just too cute for a guy to say to a guy. Men.

It has “iNan” engraved on the back. I clarified with him after the phone call ended that he wasn’t mocking me and my personalized iPod and he assured me that, no, indeed he found it to be quite cute. But just too cute for him to have to say over the phone to another guy. And I must admit when I told the guy on the phone how I wanted it engraved he chuckled and double checked the spelling and the cases of the letters.

Oh and if you think I have given up on Apple over all…. Oh, you couldn’t be further off the mark. I didn’t switch to a Dell or a… gosh, I don’t even know what other kinds of computers there are anymore! When I say desktop, I mean this:

I cannot wait! One thing I am uber excited about is the built in iCam so that if my long distance family and friends will sign up for Skype we can video chat for free and SEE each other! I live far from all family so the possibility of doing this is really exciting. Now, if I can just hook them up on Skype! (Mom and Sandy, when I come into town I’m hookin’ you up!!)

I am also actually glad for being tethered back into a wall. Having my laptop was convenient in many ways but I think having the computer back in one spot, and that not being an entirely central location, will actually help me maintain a better balance as I won’t be able to just plop down on the couch and check my e-mail and blogs and… and… and… in my oh so OCD way.

Okay and on a completely different note I must admit that today I forgot my “baby’s” immunization appointment for the SECOND time in a row. I think they are going to just have to bring the needles and show up at my door because for pity’s sake I cannot for the life of me manage to remember this appointment. I had it in my mind that it was on the 18th. It was an even number anyways so I was sort of close. Now if he gets measles or Whooping Cough or Diptheria or Pertussis or Lock Jaw or Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (umm… just kidding on that last one. It’s just my favorite disease name.) within the next two weeks I will live with a lifetime of unbearable guilt. Oh well… isn’t that every mother’s burden?!

27 thoughts on “Various things that you probably don't care about and will forget as quickly as you navigate away from my blog…”

  1. Oh, my! Wow! Cool! Okay, Nan, when you get here let’s set up the Skype. That’ll be fun to have this next winter when I’m holed up here at home. And I must admit that the bovine word does indeed roll melodiously off the tongue!MomP.S. A cute apron set arrived today.

  2. I am supposed to be getting an IMac at some point this year. Can’t wait! I already have an IPod, though…. of course, if they wanted to give me a free video IPod, I wouldn’t balk. (My husband gave me a 60GB Photo IPod (I don’t even use it for photos) for Mother’s Day a couple of years ago and then just 3 or 4 months later, they came out with the video ones.)

  3. I have the Mac you are purchasing and absolutely love it! I am addicted to the IPhoto and how easily I can download my digital images onto the computer. It is truly incredible. I don’t use the camera much…I’m a bit paranoid about someone looking at me through my computer. It also has an ITunes feature that you will enjoy using with your new INan. Enjoy!

  4. Congratulations!I really didn’t need this reminder that I’m one of the only adults I know without an iPod (or any mp3 player, for that matter). 😦 Don’t feel guilty or anything, though… 🙂

  5. not the only one, mommy dearest! We bought one for my oldest daughter a few years ago for Christmas and I still don’t have one. I am thinking of getting one for my non-techy hubby for his b-day. *sigh* it’s so unfair! 😉 Congrats on your new iPod and your new computer (coming soon!). We are going to have to break down and buy a new laptop. Thinking of an Apple, but I don’t know…I have so much pc software and it is more expensive. My desktop is 1.5 years old, so not old enough or messed up enough to buy another. ugh. It’s horrible trying to be a responsible consumer! lol I am sure you will LOVE both of your goodies!

  6. you will never regret this purchase!our kids with THE only granddaughter live on camano island in washington state (might as well be canada as we are in texas);) go one like you show a year ago. we video chat almost daily (you can also do it free with aol via aim). it is worth it’s weight in gold. you can be there to see them on the first day of school, open a birthday present, see the skinned knee, etc. i could go on and on, but you will soon find out for yourself – enjoy!joan (momo)

  7. Yeah! A new computer! Our kids LOVE the photo booth on the Mac. Within the computer’s first couple days here, over 200 photos were taken (ok, I admit I took about two dozen of them myself). lol 😉

  8. Congrats on getting a new computer…and you will love your new iNan. I think mine is permanently attached to my body. My favorite things? Audiobooks and podcasts. Have fun getting acquainted with yor new technology!

  9. We have an iMac and LOVE it! Having a built in camera is wonderful; we have really enjoyed being able to video chat with Little’s grandparents who liive about 10 hours away. It is also fun just to play with Photo Booth; we’ve spent hours (literally) messing around with it.Enjoy your new toys!

  10. Wow, congratulations on the new desktop and that cute pink iPod! I know you’re going to love both 🙂

  11. I love my laptop! How much are you selling your old one for ??? My hub and kids all have desktop computers but I do most of my stuff while dealing with Iz so I need portability :o).Cute ipod! I want one too! It could say iAnnie!

  12. You all are so sweet! :^D Thanks for the congrats on the new system! It should be fun.For those wondering my laptop is a 2 1/2 year old iBook G4, 12 inch. White. :^DOh and I set up another appointment for baby’s immunizations. Wish me luck!

  13. Missy Nan~Had to tell ya. I received my Apronpalooza prize apron in the mail and took a picture…er, well, okay MORE than one. You asked for it. Check out my blog, if you so desire! ;-)www.zeahrenaissance.blogspot.com

  14. OMG! I totally want to steal your idea and put iJoanne or iJo or something like that on the back of my iPod. (though it doesn’t quite have the ring that iNan does) Maybe I’ll just change the name of my iTunes folder to that. 😉 Is the laptop you are going to sell a Mac or PC?

  15. I don’t know how to use one… why I would use one… but the idea of puttin iPam on it is almost worth the energy to learn.

  16. My Grandma has the exact same mac & she loves it. I still think macs are just too odd and will forever be a pc user but yay! for you.

What are your thoughts?

