Vacation is going wonderfully…


We are having a great time here. It is sinfully hot. (If you are from the South or are living in Southern California where I heard it was a blistering 120 degrees yesterday, I’m sorry… you can tell me to talk to the hand or something because I’m sure I’m being a total wimp but it’s been in the upper 90’s with no air conditioning which is dadgum hot enough for me to complain about it! I’m sorry for your suffering if you have worse than that!)

Yesterday we spent the afternoon outside at a block party barbeque on my parent’s little street. It was fun. But of course, hot. The kids spent a couple of hours splashing about in the yard again.


Today we beat the heat by heading to my favorite restaurant of all time. (Don’t worry Mama Chanoli, we still want Val’s again tomorrow night!! Could we ever have too much of it? I mean that in the “What cholesterol?” kind of way.) The truth is that I really just wanted pictures at my favorite restaurant. For I have told many a person how glorious a Val’s burger is but how can they be expected to believe me without proof? You will never ever ever have a flame broiled burger better than the ones made here:

Yeah… you can tell from watching my man take one incredibly manly bite out of this burger what kind of wonder it is to eat one. I love the authenticity of this restaurant. It hasn’t changed one single bit since way back when… Even the wait staff is practically eternal.

This place is timeless. And the food is muy fabuloso!

Nothin’ better than that right there folks. If you are ever within in a 250 mile radius of this place around lunch or dinner (or breakfast if you love french toast or steak and eggs) you won’t waste gas getting there. (okay… maybe 25 miles.)

This evening was spent eating dinner out on the back patio around a big gigantic table that President Ronald Reagan is rumored (no, really, it’s a fact) to have eaten at on a beautiful sprawling ranch just north of Mount Shasta during his gubernatorial campaign in California. How cool is that? It’s in my parent’s backyard and their dog sleeps under it…

Then we spent some time out back watching the kids play. I took pictures of my punk teenage brother (I love him you know) skateboarding. He’s a little hotty. But don’t tell him I said that. He’ll get an even bigger head.




The kids decided to climb Grandma’s apple tree and eat some of it’s sour bounty. There are no climbable trees in our neck of suburbia up north because we live in such a new subdivision. If our kids tried to climb the trees in our neighborhood the trees would have no branches left to speak of. But here they are in Grandma’s beautiful apple tree and I have to say, these are some of my favorite pictures that I’ve taken with my new camera.




I hope you are having a great week!




16 thoughts on “Vacation is going wonderfully…”

  1. Ok, just remember to save some of that heat for when your boogies freeze inside your nose in a Calgary winter…..You’ll be wishing for 90 degrees then, I bet! 😉

  2. LOL leendaluu… thanks for bringing me back to reality! I think I’ll spend another week or so here in la la land though. Hee hee!

  3. It is hot here in the South, but we do have AC! Glad you are having a good time on your trip.

  4. not sure if it’s just my stupid ‘puter, but i think it’s funny that none of the val’s pics are showing up!

  5. I missed this…a new camera? What did you get? Those are some really nice photos of your kids and your brother.Have fun!!!

  6. Oh, I absolutely love your blog title! I can relate! My men leave me surprises all the time! Love it.You have wonderful photos here too….have you ever digital scrapbooked? You should!

  7. Great pix there! Enjoy your vacation – we’re going to Gramma’s next week to hang out and eat her food. Actually, your vacation sounds suspiciously like mine – you living my life?!

  8. I second in knowing the following:What “new” camera did you get?Where can we find a Val’s burger?Thanks for sharing your vacation with us!

  9. The photos of B and T are so adorable! Tell them I say hi. We miss you guys up here, but we’re putting your house to good use while you’re gone ;)Mandy

  10. Sounds like you are having a great time Nan! The pictures are great!! When you are all done, let me know all the cool spots to hit on the road trip!~Christine

  11. So glad that you are having a good vacation. Keep checking in to see if you are home yet. You must be somewhere on the coast by now, sitting on the beach somewhere, watching the waves! 🙂 Didn’t realize that I was so addicted to your daily posts til you went out of town. Miss your funny stories…but I am sure you will have lots to tell when you return!

What are your thoughts?

