I love flowers!

Since getting my camera I think I have probably taken over 300 photos of just flowers! So much of the year here involves a great deal of white stuff and booger freezing temperaturs and soil so hard it has a special nickname, “permafrost.” And hence, no flowers except those found in a florist’s shop until mid to late May. But now I have a garden on my computer to keep me happy (sort of) even during the dog days of winter, which I fear to tell you is creeping up rather quickly. And if my cyber garden doesn’t keep me happy, it will at least keep me busy. Busy playing!

So I now have a new addiction. Toying with color saturation in my flower pictures. Just look and see how fun this can be. Tell me you wouldn’t want to do a couple hundred different versions too? (Though I’ll say on the outset that I always prefer God’s natural look for these things!)

You’ll have to tell me which one is your favorite (besides God’s version… ironically called, “Master Version” in my free trial of Aperture.)

The Master’s Version^





My blogging buddy and amateur photography hero, Ree likes to threaten grisly deaths, toenail removal or encounters with bearded women in dark alley ways to make her beloved readers tell their opinions. I promise no harm will come to you if you choose not to tell me your fave pretty much because if I did, I would be the worst copycat ever! ;^P But gosh, is it ever tempting!

21 Comments

Add yours →

  1. have to say, I like the master’s version best,but the third one is my second fave.Hey- how are you able to post more than 5 pics in one post? Why doesn’t Blogger let ME do that?! Humph!LB

  2. I like the second one after the Master Version.

  3. Well it was a beautiful flower to start with. All of your interpretations of it are pretty. The 4th one down, with the blue in the background and hints of blue in the center of the flower is my favorite. You could print enlargements of these & frame them for your house or as gifts. With the color variations using four of them reminds me of Andy Warhol type of artwork. Have fun with it!

  4. The master version is my favorite, but I also am quite fond of the last one. I agree with Rebecca…you should frame a group of them.

  5. Life With My 3 Boybarians August 11, 2007 — 9:51 am

    Okey dokey Nan. I like the pink one with the green background. But concur with the girls that a succession of them framed would be cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Ooooooh, Nan! Love the 3rd and the 5th, but if I had to choose, it would be the 3rd. My eye is drawn to the water droplets. Very nice! Glad you are back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. The master version, but out of your ones, I like the second one, pretty in pink..

  8. third from the top…i love me some green

  9. I would have to say #3 is the best I love how it looks. I would love to have that for my back ground on my computer with your permission. What Photo shop software do you use. I play with mine a little. But nothing like yours. Thnak you SaRah

  10. I too have become addicted to photo taking of flowers. I found myself snapping wildflowers out west as much as anything else. I plan to print some of them to frame for my living room.My favorite? Master’s version and #3

  11. No problem Charish. Thanks so much for asking!

  12. Oh and right now I’m just using a free trial version of Aperture, the Mac post-production tool. :^)

  13. #5 is the neatest simply because of the vibrant, contrasting colors.I do notice some digital noise/distortions around the petals on 3 and 4. That usually happens to me if I have been too exuberant in sharpening the image.

  14. Yeah, there is definitely too much distortion! LOL Much easier to notice at full size. I do have a tendancy to be heavy on the sharpening. Hee hee!

  15. My favorite is photo number 3, the one after the B&W. I like it better then the master one.jean

  16. I vote for the second-to-last: brilliant colors that jump off the page! As always, excellent photos!

  17. I think I like the “Master’s version” best … followed closely by the last one … so striking!!

  18. You guys are the BESTEST! :^D

  19. 3rd and 5th for me. They are all lovely though.

  20. I don’t even really like flowers…but love the last picture. Hmmmmm, maybe because I don’t really “appreciate” the flower I am drawn to the most un-flowerlike one?

  21. Wow, I’m really glad I stumbled on your blog today! I love those photos! My personal favorite is the second to last one. I really like how the saturation came out. I also like the last one too, though.

What are your thoughts?

