Sorry for being a stranger!

This week was just an incredibly busy and exhausting week; physically, mentally and emotionally. Bullet points will make it easier.

  • We had VBS this week – we do this as a backyard bible club and it went really well but it was a lot of work and meant we had to come home and crash on a daily basis.
  • We had my husband’s parents here this week…
  • My man has had Bronchitis (hasn’t yet gone away)
  • I’ve had insomnia in a bad way all week.
  • Oh and let’s just say that PMS and cramps from the bad place don’t always mix well with entertaining company.
  • I spent Friday working on a VBS powerpoint slide presentation to show at church.
  • And then became entranced by iDVD and now have the maniacal urge to turn all of my pictures into slideshows on DVD.
  • I’m now feeling sick!
  • I now have a great deal of laundry to do that once done will likely sit in an enormous pile on my living room couch, becoming a Mountain, nay a RANGE of mountains the likes of my dear Canadian Rockies if ignored for even a day or two.
  • I now have a very messy kitchen.
  • I feel like my head is floating a couple of feet above my body.
  • My throat hurts.
  • We are supposed to dive right back into homeschooling this week
  • Points 1-13 have made me feel that I need another week of freedom under my belt before hitting the books.
  • Point 14 is a terribly guilt inducing point.
  • I want to go to Hawaii. Maui.
  • And go snorkelling.
  • And then eat lots and lots of manapua buns until I myself actually become a pork filled steamed dumpling bun. Shouldn’t take long.
  • Because I feel terribly bloated right now.
  • But I want to go to Hawaii anyways even if I do look like a pudgy white pork filled dumpling wearing a bathing suit.
  • Then the reporters would hover over me in their helicopter as I innocently snorkel in the waters below
  • and we would watch the whole sad thing on a news blurb that night while eating more manapua buns, “I’m Holly Akala with News at Night. Today a life size floating manapua bun wearing snorkelling gear was discovered in Napili Bay.
  • More at 11:00.”

Oh and I took this quiz that said this about me. Sheesh. I couldn’t have made up something this nice. Or something this insulting. I can’t decide if I think it’s more nice or more insulting.


You’re Watership Down!

by Richard Adams

Though many think of you as a bit young, even childish, you’re
actually incredibly deep and complex. You show people the need to rethink their
assumptions, and confront them on everything from how they think to where they
build their houses. You might be one of the greatest people of all time. You’d
be recognized as such if you weren’t always talking about talking rabbits.


Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

Okay. I think that’s all. Keep spreading the word about the Summer Soap Celebration!! You will LOVE the prizes. Seriously. You will go nutso with excitement! Over and out.

11 thoughts on “Sorry for being a stranger!”

  1. What a week! Good grief…hope you don’t get the same virus as your man…you haven’t kissed him lately, have you?? ;)I really am sorry that you aren’t feeling well. It’s always a task to entertain as well, especially if you have VBS too.I figured something had to be up…missed you.Talk to you soon.Corrie

  2. Missed you Nan! I got exhausted myself reading that list…boy oh boy! Think you need a 48 hour nap now! Will pray that the hubby feels better and no one else gets it. Oh and yes…I wish I could go to Hawaii too. 🙂 It’s been cloudy and rainy here for 2 days…in AUGUST…it’s just not fair!

  3. I am exhausted reading your list. LOL Thanks for the comment on my blog – who is your dad? Feel free to email me at underthesky@gmail.com. You really have me curious!!Oh,and here is a poem I modified from good old Tolkien for your laundry woes:I see in your eyes the same mountain that would take the heart of me. A day may come when this laundry pile of mine overwhelms me, when I forsake clean towels and break all scoops of soap, but it is not this day. An hour of soiled shirts and dirty pants, when the laundry room comes crashing down, but it is not this day. Today, I fold! For all of the children in my house, and for my dear husband too, I tell you I will sit, and fold my laundry!:+) Warmly,Kate

  4. Loved your list. I can relate. I’m not ready for school, either. We’ll start this Thursday, but I don’t even have everything I need, so it will just be the basics for now.Oh, and I took the book quiz, too. I”m “Catch-22”.

  5. Wow! I knew it was a busy week for you, but not that busy!! Hang in there baby, and stop by my blog- I have something for you there.LB

  6. my list is different but equally frantic.except for the pork filled dumpling wearing a bathing suit. instead…I always get in trouble with green peace for beaching a whale.oh… and my book I’m A PEOPLE’S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES. 1492 PRESENTweird

  7. Hmmmm…I took the quiz and ended up “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Not sure if I agree with the assessment, but it is one of my favorite books, so on that level it works 🙂

  8. Geez, Nan…I thought I commented to this post :/. I guess by now you know I’m “The Poisonwood Bible”, which I’ve never read, but others seem to think is GREAT.Let’s just add one more to the impossible list :/ :).

What are your thoughts?

