Odds and Ends

Remember how, a couple of days ago, I mentioned how much I love Fall, except that it reminds me how close winter is… and then I tacked on, “who knows, it could snow tomorrow…” Well… yesterday we had our first snow. Can you believe it? Crazy. Thankfully it melted almost before it hit the ground. I weep inwardly when the first snowfall in all of it’s fluffy glory, sticks. That usually happens just before Halloween. But as for now, we still have fall so I’m still happy.

Look at our mountains.


These are one of the many reasons that I love it here. One of the many reasons that I can bear winter. These mountains are just amazing. They are even more amazing when you are driving in and out of valleys. They really do seem to go on forever. Everyone needs to see the Canadian Rockies. I mean, I admit to being totally ignorant on this point but I can’t imagine what the Swiss Alps have on the Rockies…. though I’m not against ever finding out in person.

*********************

Last night we played Trivial Pursuit Jr. after dinner. We had decided that the 3 year old (almost four) probably wouldn’t like being strapped to the game by being given a teammate so we just decided to play Mom and oldest against Dad and second oldest, while third oldest had a pawn but could come and go at will and only play when he felt like it. To our surprise he stayed for almost the whole game and imagine how blown away we were when he answered more than three questions in a row correctly, acquiring for himself, at various turns, two wedgies! With no grown up teammate! I was amazed.


He then further made us laugh that evening by running to and fro down the halls, just before shower time, and announcing at the top of his lungs, “I can run faster than a pregnant giraffe!!!” Wow! No kidding! That is seriously pretty impressive.

12 thoughts on “Odds and Ends”

  1. Those mountains are gorgeous! I would love to see the Canadian Rockies in person.And, running faster than a pregnant giraffe? What a huge obstacle to overcome! My congratulations to him. 😉 (‘Cause I don’t think I could do that, personally.)

  2. Ok, now I’m having a mental picture of what all that would entail just to find out if I COULD run that fast…..ha,ha,ha!! 🙂

  3. We ventured out west in 1996…it was lovely! My in-laws live north of Grande Praire now, which makes me unbelieveably sad. :(Oh your boy sounds SO cute! Where in the world did he get that analogy, though? 😉

  4. I travel up to Edmonton three to four times a year. Haven’t really had a chance to venture into the “country” yet. I think I might forgo my next Oilers game (huge fan from New Jersey, I go to one game a year when I’m up there) to take a trip into the mountains

  5. Do the Colorado Rockies count?Just flew over from Ree’s. Since you had the longest comment of the day, decided to see what goes on here.

  6. LOL….tell him I don’t believe it; I want to see him and a pregnant giraffe racing, so I have proof. 😀 Nan, those mountains are gorgeous! I can’t imagine waking up to that every day. Here, we get corn fields! And those are on their way out right now.

  7. Speaking of fall, I had to mention that I absolutely LOVE fall. The first fall smell that gets in the air gets me euphoric. We do not get much of a winter where I live so of course I am a bit jealous of the snow too 🙂

What are your thoughts?

