Pictures Pictures Pictures

We took a little afternoon picture taking escapade this afternoon. You see, I had spent a few hours of turmoil reteaching someone the skill of regrouping in subtraction (aka. Borrowing). It was tumultuous. It was painful. It was hellish. We needed to leave the house and run like Fraulein Maria into the mountains. We didn’t do exactly that. We drove about 10 minutes from the house to where we could get the best view possible with the shortest drive possible. Maybe these all look the same to you. I don’t know. But I couldn’t help myself. Don’t recollect if I’ve ever mentioned before how much I love these mountains? (As usual, cook to enlarge) <— Oh dear… did I just type that. In the spirit of "keepin' it real" I won't change it but… man, that's troubling. Thanks for alerting me to it Dave! That would be CLICK to enlarge. **sigh**






I also wanted to take some fall foliage pictures. Here is the view from a bridge over the Bow River, near our house. I love this place when the leaves are aflame like this.


And here you can see the new Children’s Hospital and beyond it (it’s further than it looks in this picture) downtown and the top of the Calgary Tower.


There were so many pretty horses along our drive and I really wanted to stop and pet them and take their pictures. I saw two little girls petting horses and their Mom’s car parked nearby. Humph. They got let out but I didn’t. This is the closest thing I got to a picture of a horse today:

Oh, yes. That’s just what I was hoping for. A portion of a horse butt.

And lastly I have to show you a picture of the crazy weather we had here last night. This storm moved in like a giant claw. I missed getting a picture of it but we had two separate rainbows just before this moved in.


Okay… I think I’ve unloaded enough pictures on you for one night.

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great PhotosThose skys are beautiful!

  2. Hi Nama these pics are great! Ive been reading your blog for a while now, maybe 6 months off and on and just recwently went back to blogging myself. In not that good at it yet but Im working on it lol! Just wanted you to know that I think your blog is great and I sure enjoy all the boys antics! pop by my blog soemtime if you feel led to.. I wnt to add you to my blog list if thats ok you can do the same if you wish. Thanks, In Him, Denise, NC

  3. “… cook to enlarge” you say. Sounds like someone has food on the brain.I went for a 4.5 hour walk this evening (AKA procrastination), and ended up seeing a bunch of deer nearby some houses. Slightly more interesting than staring at a horse’s posterior I think. You could say that I found some deer on the path when I couldn’t find a path for my feet over Deerfoot. (This is such a car-driven town – so many overpasses only carry cars – not pedestrians).

  4. Beautiful pictures, I love mountains, snow, and fall foliage; but yikes that storm looks scary!

  5. Your pictures are absolutely stunning! You made a good choice to get out after a tough morning. I’ve been in survival mode this week… I think if I could get the boys out and catch some scenery like that it would do wonders for our attitudes! Of course, we have the Pacific Ocean about 20 minutes away… but all that sand… on all these boys… shudder. I’ll just come back to your peaceful pictures. 🙂

  6. Hi, Nan. I stumbled across your name on TwoEdgeTalk. I listen, read and comment there often, as I’m a Baptist and do enjoy the challenge of tossing it around with folks of differing views.I like your blog, and I admire pastors’ wives very much. God bless you.

  7. LOVE the view of the horse butt! You have a great sense of humor, as evidenced by the fact that you included that picture!

  8. Those views – I am so jealous!! Being a Texas girl my whole life I long for beautiful scenery. Thanks for sharing with us.

  9. we traveled over the Olympic Peninsula for a wedding – and I was snapping pictures like the tune of a 3 year old.I posted one of a spider today. Tomorrow Mt. Rainier.I didn’t know photography was so fun until I started playing with the digital camera just over a year ago.love all your shot …even the horsey butt

What are your thoughts?

