Do me a favor would ya?

In the dead of winter when I begin complaining about cabin fever, round about the time I start cursing the weather man… just about when I start getting really annoyed with booger freezing temperatures and when I start taking not only every snow dump, but every individual beautifully unique snowflake, personally — I mean, as a personal insult, when I start screaming and using all caps when I tell you all how much I hate how we have 400 pairs of mittens but no one can find ANY matching ones, when I start to whine about the price of snow boots and when I threaten to throw myself in the path of the nearest snow pl0w… you know… right around that time, would you just remind me how much I really and truly do love this place?
Thanks.

We went on a beautiful day trip today. All of these pictures are taken at the very beautiful and enchanting Lake Louise. How blessed are we to be able to take this in on a day trip? I can’t tell you how blessed I feel.

Please forgive me ahead of time, for I got a bit carried away with the amount of pictures… I just couldn’t stop myself. It’s a sickness. It’s my OCD. It’s a burden I must bear. And you must suffer with me.

This it the boat house.
DSC_0127
DSC_0239

Though I’m particularly in love with this picture of it:
DSC_0156

We witnessed a little baby avalanche too…
DSC_0099

And we saw these beautiful birds. I only wish I knew what they were called… I’m a bird dope. Pamela? Anyone? (UPDATE: Mystery Solved!)
DSC_0190
DSC_0185
DSC_0187
DSC_0191
I’m sorry… I can’t help myself. They are just too pretty…
DSC_0193
We also saw an elk but couldn’t get a really good shot of him.
DSC_0071

The water of Lake Louise is comparable in color to the tropical waters of any island in the Caribbean. Of course it’s probably just about 70 degrees or so cooler. Something like that anyways.
DSC_0231
DSC_0241
DSC_0251

Is it just me or are mountains doubly pretty when they are upside down?
DSC_0267
DSC_0269

The kids had a blast. They love being little adventurers. It’s funny that the minute they are on an official “hike” they notice all of the smallest details. “Mom! Take a picture of this sap!” “Mom! LOOK! A poisonous mushroom!” “MOM! This is the most amazing stick I have ever seen in my whole life!” (And yes, those are all direct quotes.) It’s adorable.
DSC_0120
DSC_0214

DSC_0151
DSC_0123
DSC_0144

And lastly I waxed artistic with my camera today. Tried new settings. Played with my aperture settings. So now you must suffer through my impressionism. :^D
DSC_0205
DSC_0218
DSC_0287
DSC_0248

Okay. There. I think
I’m done.

45 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Laura @ Laura Williams' Musings October 15, 2007 — 9:38 pm

    Girl you got some skills with the camera!! Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous!

  2. Your pics are great. Remeber me when you are famous. πŸ™‚

  3. Remeber is a spanish word meaning “it’s time to go to bed now because either your typing skills are waning or your spelling skills”.Buenas noches. Love ya.

  4. Brian, Lanna & Brianna October 15, 2007 — 10:24 pm

    Oh my goodness, your pictures are absolutely breath taking and stunning! What kind of camera are you taking these with? It makes me wish I could snap my fingers and be there right now to capture it all in real life!

  5. You done good, Ree…I mean Nan.lol, just kidding…Great job, they’re beautiful and I’m doubly (is that a word?) jealous…I want your camera, and I want to be at Lake Louise (though I did go in ’96).

  6. great beautiful pictures!

  7. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing, especially since it’s still just hot, dry and dusty in Kentucky right now.

  8. My boy, the bird guy, says he thinks your bird is a female Boreal Chickadee…he thinks.I sat on my camera over the weekend. It broke the screen. I am fortunate that I am even able to take pictures now.You are making me most jealous!

  9. Beautiful photos! I love the action shots of the avalanche & your son jumping. Oh and the mountains are so so pretty.

  10. Thank you for sharring your beautiful pictures! They made me want to be there with you! lynn

  11. Queen of My Domain October 16, 2007 — 10:44 am

    Wow what a beautiful place to be. You are very lucky to have such obvious beauty surrounding you. Remember that when it’s under thirty feet of snow. LOL! Your pictures are getting so much better each time.

  12. What beautiful pictures! It is so strange to me to see snow in Oct. when we are still in shorts. How amazing to live around that kind of beauty. I must admit I am a little jealous.

  13. I am SO jealous. It is so beautiful where you live!

  14. Very pretty, Nan. And you are right. You are blessed to live in such a beautiful place.

  15. So pretty! The colors of the lake are amazing, and I love the mountains. We have nothing like that here – just cornfields. I love the picture of the boys on the dock with the mountains in the background!

  16. We love Lake Louise. I wish we were able to live there and not just go and visit from time to time. If I’m not mistaken, I think your bird is a Western Kingbird.Michellewww.northofthe49.com

  17. Gorgeous!!! Loved every picture. When I was a young ‘un my mom used to take a string and tie it to each mitten and then stick them thru the arm holes so they just hung out the end of the arm of the jacket. Does that make sense? Keep the pictures coming and may you stay warm and grateful πŸ™‚

  18. Wow, as usual, thank you for sharing the beautiful photos! I always feel that I take a mental vacation when I see them! Of course, the pictures of your children are simply adorable. Love it, love it! Have a great day!

  19. a wandering heart October 16, 2007 — 6:10 pm

    wow. those are beautiful.

  20. the reflection in the water is beyond words.I would have told you that was a camp robber (which is a common term for a gray jay)… that picture of your son with the highlights is one you need to enter into a photo contest. perfect.

  21. Dawn @ My Home Sweet Home October 16, 2007 — 9:53 pm

    Girl, can I just say that you never have to apologize for posting pictures like those. I wish we could hang awhile and I could teach you Photoshop and you could teach me how to adjust the settings on my camera. Aperture settings seem to be beyond my abilities as a photographer.That scenery is absolutely amazing. Just pull up these pictures when you’re frozen.

  22. Awww! Thanks guys!! You all are the best! Lanna, I think it was you that asked about the camera. It’s a Nikon D80. I do love it. Too much.Pamela, I had a feeling you would probably know what my bird was. :^D I’m proud of myself because I found out through my own sleuthing… though I doubt if Googling and click click clicking is really considered sleuthing… **shrug** :^)Dawn – Guess what? Photoshop is in my future… my near future!! I could pee my pants I’m so excited. (Don’t worry. I will contain myself.) I can’t WAIT!

  23. Wow, those were unbelievably gorgeous photos! I am in complete awe. I honestly didn’t think those mountains could be real. How very fortunate you are (yes… even in the winter!). Thanks for sharing!Mariawww.jubileeonearth.com

  24. Gosh! I love all your pictures! You are a good photographer.And, I do believe, you live in the most beautiful place on earth. Love the lake and those mountains!!

  25. Hi NanI would love to see the Canadian Rockies someday ~ the lakes are just gorgeous! Yes, we are very blessed living near such awesome beauty.I saw a lot of your wonderful pictures, but I couldn’t wait for all of them to load! πŸ˜‰

  26. Wow, I love these photos! Really wonderful pics, do you have one of those fancy cameras like Ree? I am bugging hubby to get me one.just lovely

  27. I tried to comment on this a couple of days ago but blogger kept ignoring me. Hmph.Anyway, your pictures are amazing. You clearly have a gift with the camera and a deep appreciation for His creation.As for the cold winter, you need to learn to knit! Then you could cheerfully knit warm snuggly sweaters, mittens and socks. You would never complain because the cold weather would give you an excuse to buy more yarn and knit one more hat. Just a thought. πŸ™‚

  28. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Your pics are “eye candy”

  29. More unbelievable pictures. Did you take a photography class? I am dying to know how you became such a pro.

  30. Thank you all! What an encouragement you are! Chaotic joy, I did take one photography class in my senior year of highschool but I spent most of the time flirting with boys in the dark room or running around campus enjoying the freedom of my photo class pass! In other words… I didn’t learn much there! LOLSo mostly I’m self taught, though I do want to take a photography class soon.

  31. I read about your dream over at PW, so I thought I’d come take a look. Gorgeous photos!NonnieM

  32. lovely photos! and what a beautiful place.

  33. Woah, do you live in Banff? I have ALWAYS wanted to go there!!! The mountains are unbelievably beautiful! I have friends who have been there and their pictures (as well as yours) just blow me away! God is amazing, isn’t He? What a wondrous creation. πŸ™‚

  34. I just found you over at Ree’s Place – thanks for commenting and leaving your blog address! Confession – I immediately stole your first pic of Lake Louise (the one seen through the trees, with the sun pennies dancing off the water) and made it into one of my desktop pics. My parents (both gone now) loved to travel and LOVED Lake Louise. And your pictures are much better than theirs!! (I won’t sell it or anything slimy like that, just let me know if you’d rather I got it in a more legit manner). P.S. Your kiddos are gorgeous. I taught kindergarten for 23 years – just retired – and I know whereof I speak. Gorgeous.

  35. Hey! I found a link to your website off the Pioneer Woman. Just wanted to say that your pictures are beautifull. How did you get the water to sparkle?Rachel

  36. Thanks Rachel! I am Ree’s biggest fan. I didn’t make the water sparkle… I just took a picture of it sparkling! :^D Really, seriously… when it rippled, it just sparkled like a jewelry box!

  37. Great pictures. I too am a minister’s wife, but only a mother of 2 (and grandmother of 2). Enjoy your boys while they are young (it looks like you do), and you will enjoy them when they are older. Mine are now 25 and 23. I love the fact that they are best friends, and still enjoy being with us. It is fun to see all the different stages of their life so far.

  38. I followed your link from PW – I hope you post some more photos soon – they are gorgeous!

  39. Great pics. My fave was the bird hunkered down in the tree with the little pine cones. Very sweet. I love birds too.Found you from your finalist entry on PW.

  40. Oh, these pictures makes me homesick for the Mother Country!Found you over at PW – thanks!Enjoy each and every day!Cheers!

  41. Lovely photos!

  42. Love the birds!

  43. Wow! Beautiful pictures, especially the ones of the birds. Thanks for sharing your daytrip. Hm, I wonder what a daytrip would be like…instead of cooking, cleaning,and knitting to get ready for Christmas, not to mention gardening, and working full time! Thanks for taking me with you on a virtual day-cation. Trishetrish.wordpress.comblessedarethebarren.wordpress.com

  44. Love the pictures!! They are beautiful!I am a homeschooling mom of 3 boys, so I think this may be a place I frequent :)~Emily

  45. No wonder you love it, it’s absolutely beautiful. But I think we all, or most of us anyway, get sick of the cold of winter after a while.

What are your thoughts?

