Happy Thanksgiving from Canada!


Well, I decided last week that since we were all just getting over being sick when Canadian Thanksgiving rolled around and since, no matter how hard I try, I simply cannot make myself “get into” Thanksgiving in the first week of October, we would go ahead and celebrate today like good little Americans!

The kids are downstairs coloring pilgrims and cornucopias and doing Plymouth Rock themed word searches and the like. The turkey bird is in the oven and all of the side dishes are waiting their turn to go in also!

I just couldn’t help myself this year. All the talk of turkey and stuffing and cranberry sauce overcame me and I just had to do it. I always feel sort of left out, living way up here, on American Thanksgiving Day when all of my family back home is gathered around a table feasting together and I am here having leftover meatloaf or spaghetti. So I decided that this year I was not going to just skip it… decided to go ahead and act like today’s a holiday even though everything around here is just another normal day.

So in about an hour I will be right there with you, deeply inhaling the glorious smell of a turkey in the oven…

Happy Thanksgiving!!
6 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving from Canada!”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I didn’t realize you were in Canada! ha ha For some reason I thought you were in Wisconsin or Montana! ha ha ha Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Where in Canada are you? I’m in Atlantic Canada. I’ve enjoyed reading your evolving stories of Brucie. We just got a golden retriever puppy in late August, after having given one away in the spring. Long story. Anyway, we are quite enjoying him. I hope Brucie adapts quickly, and there are no more issues.

  3. Hey Nan, I am so glad that you guys celebrated Thanksgiving, even if you were the only ones on the street!!! =). Hope the turkey and stuffing was yummy!!!Love to you all,Corrie

What are your thoughts?

