Round Robin Photo Challenge

I had never seen this challenge until early last week and I decided to join up with the Round Robin Photo Challenge, at least for today. Mostly because I really like trains.

Round Robin Photo

The challenge for today was as follows: “our very first challenge of the year is “Railroads!” Trains take us here, trains take us there, and they are darn photogenic while doing so. Have you taken the “A” train lately? How about the subway? Do you have a nifty steam train in your favorite park or recreational area? How about a train of historical significance nearby? Even if the only train you connect with is Thomas The Tank Engine, it can be photographed for this challenge. Anything Railroad related counts!”

I took these photos in Henry Cowell State Redwoods Park, in Felton, California where my husband and I met and had our first conversation, which lasted a good 2 hours or more. I can’t get the Johnny Cash song out of my head when I look at them… “I hear the train a comin’… it’s rollin’ round the bend…. and I ain’t seen the sunshine since…. I don’t know when. I’m stuck in Folsom Prison……..”

DSC_0767.JPG

DSC_0768.JPG

DSC_0769.JPG

 

I took these pictures from my car window on our way home from California last Summer. This was in the Rocky Mountains on the BC side.

Train reflection1

Train reflection 2

I have to edit because I left out a few train pictures that I meant to post!

c/u cart railroad and fenceDSC_0071DSC_0029DSC_0030

This train runs regularly throughout the Summer at our local historical village.

16 thoughts on “Round Robin Photo Challenge”

  1. Thanks Sarah! :^D I’m enjoying the new platform.

    I love trains! Watching them, riding them, pictures of them… Airplanes? Not so much. LOL

  2. Everything looks fantastic. Great job! Your camera is awesome thanks showing it to. I am still using a Kodak Easy Share from 5 years ago.

  3. Hi Nan 🙂

    So nice to meet you! I am Carly. I am so pleased you decided to give the Round Robin Challenges a try. 🙂 We are pleased to have you with us, and let me say, you are off to a wonderful start. Your photos are topnotch! 🙂 I got really excited with I saw that you took your wonderful photos in Felton, California. That is just a hop, hop and a skip from where I live in Berkeley. 🙂 As I said, you have done a great job with this entry, and I hop you will join us again. We will be announcing out next challenge tomorrow. 🙂 Take good care, and once again, WELCOME. 🙂

    All my best, Carly

  4. Hello from a fellow Canadian 🙂 I just finished reading about your wonderful blog on the homeschoolblogawards site and I’m so glad I popped over. And you have my dream camera! My husband gave me a gift certificate for Christmas and I just need a teeny tiny bit more and I can get it 🙂 I’m looking forward to perusing more of your entries.
    Blessings,
    BChsMamaof3

  5. Hello there, and welcome to the Robins. These photos are beautiful. The colors are lovely, so cool and green. It’s amazing to see old forest so close to the tracks; the train seems almost like a secret the trees are keeping.

  6. Hi, Nan, and welcome to the Robins! I love the series of three shots. In the first one you can’t quite ell for sure what’s coming, and then the second and third reveal the answer. The other two are gool, too, with the reflection in the water and all that green foliage. Wonderful!

What are your thoughts?

