Busy Day at the Casa de Lunchbox

Last night somewhere around midnight the Pastor and I decided that we needed to rearrange the house. Really. We moved parts of the family room to the living room and parts of the living room to the kitchen and family room and parts of the family room to a bedroom. And we are all much happier now. We can sometimes be impulsive but the state of the school room (family room) left a lot to be desired and some of our kiddos needed a little less competition for his brain’s attention. So the t.v. has been moved to another spot. The school room is now much more spacious and much more devoted to a singular purpose. And they all lived happily ever afterish.

Yesterday we made a salt dough model of mercury. Only it’s not really the correct color. It’s more the color of salt dough. But the kids all had fun mixing, kneading and making craters.

mercury6

mercury7

Mercury4

mercury3

This afternoon while I worked on math, reading and language lessons with my 6 year old, my 7 year old was busy mentally ingesting the ginormous book, or rather books, he’s been working on since last April! I was so proud of how far he’s come that I had to take a picture. It’s moments like this when a homeschooling mom gets a real sense of accomplishment and gets a second wind to keep pushing on through the many trying days.

narnia1

He has been reading The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis since last April, starting with The Magician’s Nephew. He is now at the end of the Silver Chair and anticipating his arrival at The Last Battle. I am so dadgum proud of him.

narnia2

Ate a nice relaxing dinner together, a yummy chicken noodle casserole. Despite all of my guilt over several pesky pounds that I’d like to shed, I am still apparently in hibernation mode because I can’t for the life of me make anything other than comfort food. God have mercy on my soul.

The kids all stunk like three day old meat (well, maybe not quite that bad) so everyone had to have a bath. And one looked particularly cute after his bath. I was forced to get the camera.

As you can see, I have quite the dimple… devilish grin free spirit to contend with.

Tbath1

Tbath2

Tbath3

While this one was bathing his littlest brother was standing there watching him practice holding his breath and proceeded to count to ten. I decided that this was worthy of a Skype call to Grandma and Grandpa since it’s been a while since we Skyped them. He promptly counted to ten for Grandma, with his 4 year old brother cheerfully chiming in, and she promptly exploded into raucous cheers! (Thanks Mom!)

Have I ever mentioned that

Iheartskype

I do. It’s the greatest invention since sliced bread. Skype, I love you. If I wasn’t already married to a really hot pastor, I’d marry you. By the way, aren’t my parents adorable there? Stinkin’ cute! (Sorry Dad. It’s true though.)

So that’s some of what’s been happening at the lunchbox. Hope you had a great day too.

8 thoughts on “Busy Day at the Casa de Lunchbox”

  1. I am so glad to see that I am not the only weirdo that moves things around in the wee hours of the night. It is truly the most inspiring time, isnt it. Everyone else is asleep and not whinging or biting at your ankles. Now if only I could find a spare bookcase I could follow in your footsteps and sort out my own school room. I just love that toothy picture! Way cute!

    Karisma’s last blog post..Who Came First? The chicken or the egg?

  2. Love your new header! I also had a very productive day. I cleaned out the “junk” closet in our playroom. We keep a book case in there to “organize” magazines, games, crafts, and my husbands misc. army junk. But lately it’s been a nightmare to open. So yesterday I completely emptied it and threw out a bunch of stuff. Then I organized and sorted everything in baskets. It looks so nice now and I feel soooo much better 🙂 Anyways…..

    I love skype also. I have some friends that are missionaries that moved to Brazil last year. The wife was pregnant when they left and they have 3 other boys (one of whom my 4 year old daughter was very attached). It’s nice to be able to talk to them and see the kids. Besides that it’s FREE! I even skype my mom who I only get to see about 3 or 4 times a week 🙂 It’s just fun!

    BTW – Your boys are sooooooooo cute. I want one. A boy, not yours. Not that there is anything wrong with yours. ARRRGG!! You know what I mean!

  3. Sounds like you had an extremely busy day! I used to make the salt dough years ago with my kids, you can add food coloring to it, but I usually didn’t either.

    Your dimpley boy is adorable! As are your parents. 🙂 I haven’t tried Skype yet but my husband uses it for work sometimes.

    Lisa’s Chaos’s last blog post..my great protector

  4. That’s great to see your 7yo reading that book on his own! Though my 7yo MAY be able to read it he would NEVER want to try it – it’s too much work! I have been reading it to them – from the looks of it the same book you have – and we are on The Horse and his Boy. They haven’t really been as interested in this one as much as the last 2 though.

    I love the “free spirit” grin too!

    Risa’s last blog post..“In Other News…”

  5. Hey!

    Now that it isn’t extremely late at night/early in the morning, I will actually comment on your blog instead of shamelessly begging you to come to/critique my new blog! 🙂

    I made some play dough on New Year’s Eve (yeah, I lead an exciting existence!) because a bunch of people came over to play Cranium and the dough was hard and crystallized, so we gathered round the oven and stirred and stirred. Well worth it, though. After, my youngest sculpted all kinds of cool things.

    My oldest daughter was a voracious reader, too. Isn’t it the GREATEST feeling to see your child devouring books? We even had to ground her from her books when I caught her reading in her bed at 2:00 am at 8 years old!!!! My middle child doesn’t like reading too much–kind of hard for him–but he does what he has to. My youngest likes it and is a strong reader, but she isn’t attracted to it like I would hope. Getting rid of the television would help. 🙂 You did that, didn’t you? We are curtailing it, but my parents are here until mid-March, so I can’t cut it too much. They like it a lot.

    I haven’t used Skype. When I thought about it, it went from free to a charge, so I didn’t try it. Think I should give it a go?

    Thanks again for your contest 7 months or so ago. I just finished the prize of the 6 months of Netflix. Wow. It is GREAT! The instant movies/shows are phenomenal and the speed of mailings is amazing. I am going to cancel it for a while, though. *sniff, sniff* We are trying to budget more (Dave Ramsey style), so this is something we can do away with for a while.

    Thanks again!

    Jenn

    Jenn in AZ’s last blog post..Coffee…coffee…ummmmm…yeah….

What are your thoughts?

