Keep praying please…

My Mother in Law is just teetering on the edge today.  She is in a great deal of discomfort whenever she is awake.  I won’t go into the details.  Just pray that God will have mercy on her and take her home today.

My husband sent this prayer request to our church family last night…

…One prayer was answered today but necessitates another:  mom woke up today, but now is panicking due to the breathing and feeding tubes and the restraints used to keep her from pulling those out.  We are praying “Lord, your will be done”, but we are praying, mercifully, for God to take her home to his rest to await a new body that will never be broken or hurt again.  If she wins this fight it will most likely be to fight cancer and have further damage to her body from the cure.  It is a vicious cycle that is painful for her to endure and us to watch.

Pray for me.  I don’t know how to “be”.  Visiting other people’s families in hospital is an honour and I always hope to be some encouragement.  This is different.  I have to be present and watch people suffer and suffer myself.  I can’t be in helper, “fix it” mode.  Pray that I would be the right mix of truth, grace, love, and just being there.

Thanks for praying.

Pastor Shawn

In the mean time my sinus infection has moved to my throat/chest and I now hardly have any voice.  Pray that the kids will behave so I don’t have to raise my voice to be heard.  I am going to the Doctor today to hopefully get antibiotics so hopefully we can get this thing knocked out in the next 24 hours.  Our church family is taking good care of us.  I don’t know what we’d do without them.

5 thoughts on “Keep praying please…”

  1. Oh Dear – what a dark and trying time. I’m praying that the grace of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ be your strength and comfort – yours at home and dear hubby’s with his mom.
    Love,
    Aunt Loie

  2. Nan, I have been away from the computer the last couple of days, because of travel. Y’all have been on my mind and in my prayers. I am sad that Shawn and all the family is going through such a difficult time. Thank you for keeping us updated through your blog…it helps us know how to pray.

    leah belle’s last blog post..Reality Bites!

What are your thoughts?

