When life gives you ice… make ice cream…

Only because I’ll have nothing to do with lemonade right now.

snowTr7

I’m tired of snow and ice. Robert Frost proves that I’m not alone in my feelings that this stuff begins to feel like a curse after a while.

Fire and Ice

by Robert Frost

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To know that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

snowT3

snowTR6

    It seems impossible for me to take a picture of a dog with his ears in the down position in the snow.

    snowBruce3

    BruceSnow2

    BruceSnow1


    snowTr4

    snowTr3

    snowTr overexposed

    snowT2

    snowtr2

    SnowTr1

    snowT

    Apparently it’s great fun to dig snow up like a dog digs up a bone…

    snow digging

    snowsticking

    And then grab a clump and stick it on the garage door. Whatever floats your boat boys…

    What would I know about fun in the snow though? I grew up in the mild temperate Bay Area of California with a lemon tree growing next door and a grape vine in the backyard, where a day with lots of hail was as good as any snow day I could ever imagine.

snowTr5

Okay… so snow and ice still have their good points.

snowT4

Dust of Snow

by Robert Frost

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree
Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great shots of your boys. Isn’t snow in April a blast?!

    Jennifer Robin’s last blog post..Nature Versus Man

  2. I so feel your pain with the snow! I’m crossing my fingers we are done and don’t get any more. I hope spring heads your way soon. In the meantime, you are getting some fabulous shots in!

    Laura’s last blog post..Happy Birthday, Mike!

  3. Love them! You have so many great ones here. The one that stands out as I write is the last one, sepia. Very sweet. Yet again I’m reminded that I forget to watermark/sign my photos. I’ve found my photos on other people’s sites and that still hasn’t taught me. To make it worst I just post dated 5 posts (that I will be out of town for) and NONE of them are watermarked. Oh dear.

    charla’s last blog post..They’re Coming…

  4. We just had one of those days the week before last. The kids we really excited and we actually had a snow day (not that I wanted to but the neighbor kids were knocking on the door by 9am for mine to go out and play so how do you convince your own kids that they still need to do school work when their public and private school friends are out playing in the piles of snow?)! It was gone about a week later – thank goodness! Not my idea of fun either! LOL

    Risa’s last blog post..I Corinthians 13 For Homeschoolers

  5. Wow! I cannot even begin to fathom snow in April! Especially when I’m sitting here with my doors open in my shorts and bare feet!

    Gina’s last blog post..Field Trip Photos

  6. More great shots! I love my D80 too.

    LiIon batteries will perform better if you keep them warm.

    The upside is, with the cold weather, the sensor is less prone to noise.

    Elliott – 21st Century Dad’s last blog post..Happy Earth Day 2008

  7. I can’t wait until I can say..I knew Nan when she was just starting out her photography. Your getting better so much faster than I am. My favorite is the sixth from the bottom, those closed eyelashes are just to sweet.

    Queen of My Domain’s last blog post..Beware the Dead Battery

  8. Thanks everyone!! The encouragement is much appreciated!

    Today we took a Costco run and I realized that I really need to eventually make money with this photography thing in order to pay to fill the growing bellies of these boys!!! I dread the food bills when they are teenagers!

  9. It is such a joy to see the boys and their dog — after the previous doggy problems.

    Pame’s last blog post..Fun Monday – Guest Blogger

  10. You just’ve got to love snow. It’s everyone (ok..if not most of us) of us. It’s magical.
    Luv the photos..beautiful

    My Bug Life’s last blog post..Indian Food Week

What are your thoughts?

