Today…

Today was a mixed bag. A real mixed bag. I thought we might be barf free today but no such luck. We had one or two more barf bouts this morning. But since then it’s been relatively barfless.

And you know, I don’t know if a whole bucket of barf could have ruined what turned out to be our very first truly warm day of the year. We topped off today at right around 80 degrees Fahrenheit and it. was. perfection. I watered flowers and admired all of the new growth that happens each day now. Very soon I should be seeing actual blooms and I simply cannot wait. When your world is colorless for 6 months out of the year you just about squeal with delight when you see the earth coming back to life again.

And to top off that wonderfulness I went and got a haircut today. I really don’t know what it is about a haircut that just makes me feel fresh and new and lovely and spunky. But it just does. (I took a new picture which is up as my new profile pic.) :^) When you feel frazzled and exhausted and worn down and emotionally the size of a wild blueberry, I tell ya… a haircut is just the thing for a pick-me-up. Of course if you feel frazzled and worn down 9 days out of 10, I don’t recommend getting a haircut every time you turn around. Things could get ugly real quick.

Today my little boy (you know, the future doctor?) came and handed me a binder that he put together yesterday and this morning. You see, he’s been reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings Trilogy over the past few months and yesterday he decided that he was going to write a book in a similar vein. You can see the progress he’s made up to this point…


Character types

(Identabits are very similar to Hobbits, apparently, but they are all born with identical twins.)

Map

chap1diamonds

chap1pg2

Apparently I need to buy the boy some more lined paper. He makes me so proud though.

What did you do today?

15 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What a great beginning to a story! I love the premise that the last diamond is taken.

  2. Great haircut, btw.

  3. Wow, I want to read his stories for real someday very soon.

    Good Yarns’s last blog post..No Pretense Needed Here – Picovoli Fits!

  4. Well he is, pretty amazing! What can I say?

    Karisma’s last blog post..Karisma’s Kidless Adventure – The finale

  5. We didn’t DO anything today.( except trying to keep everyone from fighting!) It has been downpouring here all day. non-stop. I am so glad you are having nice weather! I felt bad for you, what with all that snow and ice! Right now it’s 5:51pm. I think an early Bedtime! in 9 minutes and counting!!!

    Danielle & Jeff’s last blog post..Fabulous Feet!

  6. Hey Nan. I love the new haircut. Can you give Burke a message for me, Nan? “It’s a great start, Burke. This is your uncle Phil. Keep going, buddy!” BTW, I went abalone diving today in Mendocino County. It was beautiful. Glad y’all are getting some good weather…Love y’all…

  7. I just love that banner, it’s darling! And your new haircut is just like your name… sassy! ha ha Have a great day!

  8. I did a good deed.

    Pamela’s last blog post..Round Robin Photo Challenge – Wooden

  9. Plus I forgot to say your haircut is nice
    and the Identibits are an awesome idea. What a creative thought.

    Pamela’s last blog post..Round Robin Photo Challenge – Wooden

  10. He is so creative! What an imagination! 😉

  11. I think we are leading parallel lives. I a) recently got a new haircut, although I think mine makes me look old and overly corporate and yours seems very nice in a picture and b) have exploited my own daughter’s writing in a post as recently.

    Your son has a great imagination. Maybe he’ll be the next Tolkien himself!

    Manager Mom’s last blog post..This Random Act Of Motherhood Was Brought To You By The Streptococcus Bacteria

  12. How old is he again? Wow, I would be bubbling over. Love it, can’t wait to read the whole thing…and yes you really should rush out and get some lined paper. I got dizzy while reading.

    charla’s last blog post..Most Popular

  13. Soooooooooooooooo cute! Love the curvy writing.

    With my 1.5 years experience…it is just when you think the barfing has stopped that they let ‘er rip one….last…time. That was a wild blueberry was it?!

    Kandace’s last blog post..Could you imagine?!

  14. Hi there. Haven’t been by for a while! I LOVE the holly hobby lunchboxes. SO cute!

  15. I like the hair 🙂 the writing was cute too 🙂

What are your thoughts?

