World's Largest (fake) Dinosaur

Before I say anything else, I want to say thank you to all of you who have expressed condolences for the loss of my husband’s Mom. While we are sad that she had to go, we are relieved that she is no longer suffering. It was so hard to hear of all of the ups and downs… and how many downs there were… We know that God is good and that she now knows Him fully even as she is fully known, so though we are sad, we are able to rejoice knowing that she is now in heaven.

____________________

I’ve had these pictures from the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur that I’ve been wanting to share with you for a while now…. I don’t know why. I mean, to tell you the truth it’s not that big of a deal. I mean, it’s big. But it’s basically just a ginormous papier mache’ creature with stairs going up through his body cavity. But when you go to Drumheller, Alberta you must take pictures of the town’s claim to fame.

wld

Have you ever been inside of the world’s largest (fake) dinosaur? I have. And it cost our family $10. $10 that we will never get back. $10 down the belly of the world’s largest (fake) dinosaur. The only reason we were willing to spend $10 for our family to climb stairs and look out the mouth of the world’s largest (fake) dinosaur is because we figure we will likely never take the kids to Disneyland. And what’s second (or 2,000th) next to the splendour and wonder of Disneyland? Why, the world’s largest (fake) dinosaur of course, found only in Drumheller, Alberta.

I’m gonna be real honest with you and tell you that Drumheller is not the most exciting place on the planet. But we had a great time there and the kids were happy as clams to be able to ride their bikes around the campground for hours on end each day. No, Drumheller is not Palm Springs or Lake Louise but, well, it deserves its own post cards anyways.

drumhellerPC2

drumhellerPC

Drumheller is located in the Alberta Badlands where there are fossils aplenty. Fossils to spare. Fossils to sell at gift shops. And crazy thing, gas is just expensive there as it is everywhere else in the world. It’s no fair. They should be able to pump it straight out of the ground and into their cars up there. I suppose there are a couple other little unimportant steps involving oil refineries that would prevent that though.

boys on dino foot1

dino toes undies-

Anyways, so they have lots of fossils, okay? And they have a big fancy dinosaur museum where you can watch the paleontologists at work and where you can get up close and personal with the giganticness of the dinosaurs. So that’s why they have chosen to build the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur in Drumheller, Alberta. Good. I’m glad we got that all squared away.

tt on dino toe

dino mouth

dino talon 2

dino talon

boys on dino foot1

So you’ve seen the grandeur that is the outside of the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur, or as he is affectionately known in Drumheller, WLD. Let’s go take a peek inside the $10 belly of the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur, shall we? Good. Follow me.

You take the stairs. And you walk up them. And then you’re there. The end.

What? You think I’m kidding. I’m totally and completely serious. But then you decide it’s worth it because your two year old spends half of the ride on Daddy’s back like this:

DSC_0251

while saying, “I’m not scared… I’m not scared…”

No, he really did uncover his eyes and discover that it wasn’t too scary inside a (fake) dinosaur after all.

cddino2

CDdino

And then you get to the mouth of the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur and you feel the wind shaking it and you hope that papier mache’ is a strong material. And then you admire the dinosaur’s dentures.

dteeth2

(and the pretty cloud formations.)

dteeth4

dteeth1

cddino3

view from dino1

dteeth3

And your kids assure you that they are not scared at all.

bdino1

tdino

dtstairsdino

And then you have fun taking pictures of your ghost children.

ghosts1

And all of this takes you less than ten minutes. And then you go out to eat and order something that you’re really hungry for and it ends up tasting like Chef Boy Ardee made it. (Umm… it’s a good sign that I don’t know how to spell his name, right?) And you begin to compare what you just paid for something that tastes like it came out of a can with what you paid to climb stairs inside of the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur and you start thinking that the dino was a really good deal compared to the dish you just consumed…. Okay, so maybe all of that won’t happen to you when you go see the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur… but maybe something like it will. You never know.

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow… I think that I would be scared, actually. I was wondering if that was paper-mache until you said that it was. How can that survive living outside in the wind and the rain?

    I seriously have got to move to Canada.

    Manager Mom’s last blog post..Phoning in a Twofer – A Meme with a Twist, Plus Giveaways!

  2. LOL Manager Mom… Don’t move here for the dinosaur though… I think you’d be disappointed! (But the mountains… now that’s another story!)

    I really, honestly have no idea what it’s actually made of… It can’t really be papier mache’ but I’ve yet to figure out what these larger than life roadside animals are usually made of! LOL I don’t really know!

  3. let me see Disneyland (standing in line for every ride in the heat for at least an hour…probably longer?) vs Drumheller kids running free, riding bikes and daddys shoulder and suffering through one fake dino?

    no comparison….

    Pamela’s last blog post..Laundry Day

  4. You wrote that story exactly as I would have experienced! Great story, very realistic. Loved it. Thanks for that, now I never need to go!! lol

    charla’s last blog post..Rhonda and Milo

  5. That is pretty neat! My boys keep asking to go to our zoo as there is a new dino exhibit there for the summer. We will go soon!

    I am sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. I know that she will be greatly missed. At the same time, I praise God with you for her complete healing. What a grand reunion we will all have someday! 🙂 To God be all the glory!

  6. While I’m sorry for the loss of your MIL I am glad she’s free of pain. And while I loved the pics of the World’s Largest (fake) Dinosaur what I found most interesting is it looked like they painted innards on it! What a hoot!

  7. Well they saw you coming didn’t they???? Looks like it was much more fun from the outside! I hope that baby did not have nightmares after that.

  8. PS Blessing and safe journey home to your mother in law! May her path be paved with peace and happiness!

  9. Hee hee! Don’t worry Karisma. Afterwards he kept saying (with a smile) “That dinosaur isn’t scary! It was fun!”

  10. That’s totally awesome! My kids would LOVE that.

    Valerie’s last blog post..Political BS

What are your thoughts?

