Today…

Today The Pastor celebrated the life of his Mom with family and friends.  I know it was a joyful celebration of her life and an expression of how much she will be missed by many people.  Today the children and I, still back at home, spent the day at the zoo with my dear friend and their stand-in Grandma. Stand-in Grandmas are a gift from God, I’m quite sure.

I must share some of the very sweet thoughts that my kids have shared over the past few days about their Grandma’s passing. One of them asked God that Grandma would be better so that she can be with God so that she can come back.  Obviously a bit of confusion there still but his thoughts were so sweet.  Another said to his Grandpa when talking to him on Skype, “I’m so sorry Grandpa about Grandma.  And I’m sorry for me too.”  And today one of them said, “I always knew Grandma mostly wanted to be with God.”  God has blessed all of them with a gracious acceptance of what has happened to their Grandma and they are happy that she is not suffering anymore.

My Mom, their other Grandma, lives in California and we only get to see her and Grandpa maybe once or twice a year.

This is Karen. I’ve been begging to take Karen’s picture for months because she is just absolutely a beautiful woman inside and out and it radiates where ever she goes, and today I finally got the chance!

KB2 bw

kb and boys1

kb5 bw

Karen is one of the most fun and free spirited people I think I know. After our delightful day at the zoo today my oldest son remarked, “She and Grandma O. need to meet.  They are so much alike.  I picture them meeting and getting along great. They are almost the same age and so energetic!”  And he’s exactly right.

kb4

kb8 bw

kb6

kb7

kb9

They would get along swimmingly.

Mom, you will never, ever be replaced but I know you would approve of your stand-in!

Karen treated us to an awesome day at the zoo.  Here are some of the more spectacular things we saw when we were there today…

peacock1

p23

p22

p20

p14

p7

p5

yellowflower2

poppy1

violas1

columbine2

purpleflower1

tiger tongue2

Gotta love the tongue sticking out!

tiger tongue

tiger water

tiger11

tiger bw

tiger8

tiger eyes

tiger1

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Karen is gorgeous! I love her hair. Truly a beautiful woman. I also like the peacock butt pic. I’m not sure why…Nancypants, you should really sell some of your work. You should do a calendar!

    Katy
    http://www.mynutvillage.com

  2. Love the bokeh *giggle* in the shot of the purple flowers. See, I’m not totally unteachable! : )

  3. I love the tiger and his tongue sticking out. We have a peacock that looks just like that one. He showed up here last year and stayed all summer, then he left for the winter and came back this spring. He is quite the character.

    Jyl’s last blog post..Lilies

  4. You need to enter that 3rd picture of the peacock in a contest! It’s beautiful! …I take it that no one else has started puking…!

  5. Beautiful pics!! I especially love the purple flowers shot. And Karen is beautiful also w/ such gorgeous hair!

    Kari’s last blog post..Get Crazy With the Cheez Whiz

  6. Carol from Iowa June 26, 2008 — 5:38 pm

    Beautiful photos! Love the tiger poses (especially the tongue sticking out)!!

  7. Gorgeous photos! The kids went to the St. Louis Zoo recently, so the oldest was ALL about these pictures when she saw them over my shoulder. Nice work!

    Urban Mom’s last blog post..Catching Up… Sorta…

  8. Great tiger pics but I really love the ones of Karen.

    charla’s last blog post..Sam & Myron (teaser)

  9. Karen is awesome! You’re blessed to have her in your life.

    My condolences on the passing of Mom/Grandma. At least you know where she is!

    Kila’s last blog post..Last Day of 37

  10. Knock Knock…anyone home? Nancypants? Just wanted to say that I miss your posts! Hope all is okay. Loved the pics…as always! Glad that you have a stand in grandma in Karen…she sounds like a great lady! We hope to go the zoo next week to see the special dino exhibit for summer. Grandpa comes into town today! HURRAY! Hurry back now okay!

  11. All of your photos are beautiful, but I love the one of the orange poppy. It needs to be framed and on someones wall.

    Lynn

  12. Awesome pictures, Nan! You have such talent!

    Laura’s last blog post..Super Saturday morning!

What are your thoughts?

