We are going…

We have decided that we are going to California to be with my family.  We need to be there.  We are heading out early tomorrow morning and are going to try to make the trip in two 13 hour days.  Please pray for safety, clear road conditions and just a very smooth trip.

So I probably won’t do much blogging, if any, on this site while I’m away.  My family and I will try to keep Mike’s blog updated with ways you can pray.  Thank you so much for all of your heartfelt thoughts and prayers.

God is good all of the time.

Psalm 63: 3  – 8

1 O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.

2 I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.

3 Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.

4 I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.

5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

6 On my bed I remember you;
I think of you through the watches of the night.

7 Because you are my help,
I sing in the shadow of your wings.

8 My soul clings to you;
your right hand upholds me.

22 thoughts on “We are going…”

  1. Hi, I called your house soon as I saw this just a few minutes ago, I spoke to your Dad. Nan……I don’t know what to say……I can’t believe this. Dear Lord please bring Michael out of this. Restore his life. Please give comfort and strength to the Olsson’s.

  2. Nan I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. He and your family are in my prayers. Praying you have a safe and easy drive. My heart goes out to you all during this difficult time. My God wrap you all in his loving arms.

  3. Although a stranger, I will pray for your family, for comfort, for peace, for sustaining strength, and especially for healing-heart, mind, and body. I pray that you will all be strong and weak, strong in faith, weak with dependence, strong in love, weak with need. He will meet your every need, and surprise you with His tender mercies. I pray that Mike will know the love that is lavished upon him, by all, by the One who loves him more than he could ever imagine. Lean wholeheartedly on the Lord, He will hold you up.

  4. Hi Nancy,
    Strider linked to your blog over at TWTM. I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. Looking at your pictures of him, he looks so young and beautiful–it’s so hard to comprehend how something like this could happen to someone with their whole life ahead of them. Just know that I’m praying for you, and if you need anything just let me know. PM me on the WTM boards. I am in the Bay Area–don’t know where in CA your family is, but if I’m in cruising range maybe there is something I can do.
    Praying now, Carol in Cal.

  5. This is Nan’s mom. Shawn and Nan arrived safely at my sister’s home in Oregon tonight after a long and exhausting drive. They plan to continue on to California tomorrow.
    I just updated the blog Nan set up for Mike. He is beginning to respond to questions and commands and occasionally opens his eyes upon request. The reports on the MRI and EEG appear to show that they found no significant damage to the brain. This is unofficial, since I haven’t yet met with the neurologist, but I am very encouraged. The ICU nurse’s comment to me tonight was, “I think you guys caught him in time.” Praise God. Time will tell what the final consequences are but we are hopeful that this will be a good turning point in Mike’s life. I sure appreciate you all, Nan’s friends, and hope you will continue to pray for all of us. Thanks.

  6. Quick update here from Nan’s mom: Mike has been moved from the regular hospital to the nearby psychiatrist clinic. This is a move required when someone attempts to take his life. He is almost back to normal physically with just some remaining lung congestion and raspiness in his voice, caused by having the ventilator tubes in his throat. The plan is for him to start on antidepressants today (Wednesday) and return home Friday morning. He is very homesick and eager to leave that facility (where he is in a unit that houses adults in various stages of mental illness – not dangerous, but scary. Even though he is eighteen and a legal adult he is developmentally about 12 or 13 years old.) We’ll be happy to get him home so we can get busy working with him on his problems. He’ll be receiving regular counseling as well as other services the system offers.
    Thanks so much for your concerns. We are amazed that he is coming home with almost complete physical recovery and making progress emotionally.

What are your thoughts?

