Sorry…

So yesterday I told you about this story that I woke up writing in my head, something that has happened before actually.  But in those instances I desired sleep more than getting the story on paper, or on hard drive rather.  This time I just could not ignore it.  It wouldn’t let me sleep.  What I’m sorry for is not sharing the story with you yet.  But after asking my husband to read it and seeing his response and after hearing my Mom’s thoughts as well, I have decided to actually pursue publication.  I have no idea what will come of it.  I will keep you posted.  And heck, if it gets turned down by all publishers I may one day self-publish but that would be a last resort as it is usually the death knell for actually having it published by a publishing house.

I’ll give you a hint about what it’s about though.  It’s about a carpenter… and a chair.  Hee hee.  Sorry, couldn’t resist.  I know how cruel that is… and yet, I do it anyways.  I hope it doesn’t make you hate me and want to run away forever and ever.

So I have to tell you a few completely unrelated things that my kids have said recently.

Eight year old:  Mom, I’ve finally decided what I want to be when I grow up.

Mom:  Really?  What?

EYO:  An economist because I like paying attention to the stock reports on the news.

*************

Yesterday my older boys went out in the back yard to play in the snow.    The three year old was still inside with The Pastor and me.   He was barefoot.

I went upstairs to check my e-mail and when I came down I found the back door was wide opened and my three year old was no longer in the living room.  I called his name and asked what he was doing.  He replied from the snowy deck, “I’m out here, waiting for my feet to warm up!”

**************

There was another quote from my three year old from just a few minutes later but my addled mind can’t recall it at the moment.  I’m sure it will come to me eventually.

**************

More unrelated stuff.

I’ve been reading Crime and Punishment and wow.  That book is disturbing but so good.  It took me several chapters to get into it mostly because each character goes by like four different Russian names and even though I read silently, my tongue hurts just from thinking the names.

I’ve been on a kick off and on this year of reading the classics… not perpetually but I’ve managed to read several.  I pretty much read all of Jane Austen’s novels (either for a first or second time) earlier in the Summer, Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy (very good!), The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton and now Crime and Punishment.  I’m sure there have been a couple of others in there too.  It feels good to be reading more.  I went through a long spell where, because I spent too much time on the internet, I didn’t read anywhere near enough in the way of actual books.

My oldest boy is outpacing me.  Actually he is probably the reason I’ve been inspired to read more over the past year.  To be honest I didn’t want to be completely upstaged by his reading list so I decided to try to catch up with him.  So far this year he’s read all of The Lord of the Rings and 3/4 of The Silmarillion, Roverandom, Tales from the Perilous Realm, both Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, 100 Cupboards, all of Calvin and Hobbes (do they count?), he’s now reading Eragon

I also decided this last year that the boys might not despise bedtime as much if they were allowed to listen to books on CD so we bought them a CD alarm clock for their room .  They love this and sometimes go up and listen to their stuff for hours on end.  We all listened to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and The Restaurant at the End of the Universe in the car on our trip of course.  But in their room at night the boys have pretty much listened to all of The Story of the World by Susan Wise Bauer, Harry Potter, Homer’s Odyssey, The House at Pooh Corner, much of Shakespeare, a dramatized version of Ben Hur and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Despite the fact that this time in life seems to be one of the very busiest we’ve ever had, and for me, one  of the most stressful as I’ve been dealing with several pesky health related issues among other things, I am still very thankful for this season as we are all reading so much more than we used to be.  My second oldest is doing much better in his reading lessons this year which is really encouraging and my five year old is learning to read too.  Once I’m done potty training the three year old (Lord help me… I don’t know if it will ever happen!!) I think the next hurdle I will feel the great desired to get over is having all of my children be great readers — and then the hurdle will be that they all become avid readers hopefully.  There is always something to look forward to, right?

Thus ends one of the ramblingest posts I’ve ever written. And I’m sorry but does anyone else love this tree picture as much as I do?

flaming trees

6 thoughts on “Sorry…”

  1. Hey Nan,
    Well, I’ve been catching up on your latest posts and must say that I LOVE the pictures from your roadtrip AND I can’t wait to read The Carpenter’s Chair.
    Hope to talk to you more soon.
    Hugs,
    C

  2. Calvin & Hobbes counts.

    It’s one of my all time favorites, and one of my son’s as well.
    Now he’s devouring Peanuts-the comic strip that is-in the books that collect all the newspaper strips.

    pilgrim’s last blog post..Here You go Dave

  3. I do. I love the orange and white on top, white in the middle, and red and white on the bottom. And it’s all so feathery looking!

    Mom

  4. Hey Nancy~
    Just wondering if the CD alarm clock turns off the cd at a certain time….or if it’s just a clock with a CD player.

    Sounds like a great idea!

    ~Kelly
    (Scott’s wife, Shawn’s friend from Little Rock!)

What are your thoughts?

