Yes, another blog…

I have this habit of getting cool ideas for new group blogs and starting them immediately. This one I thought about for at least a week. You should be proud of me.

Recently I rediscovered an old friend who had been almost extinguished by motherhood and by this thing called the Internet (maybe you’ve met it.)  I rediscovered…. READING.  Yes, reading for relaxation.  And for pleasure.  Crazy, isn’t it?  I don’t know how it happened.  Oh, wait a minute, yes I do.  In June my friend, Karen, came up to me at church and handed me a book and said, “You have to read this.  She is the most evil heroine ever.  You’ll love it.”  The book was The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton.  And Karen was right, Undine was the most evil heroine ever and despite its very depressing theme, I loved the book and couldn’t put it down.

Thanks Karen for reigniting my love for reading.  Ever since then I’ve been on a jag of reading all sorts of classics that I had always intended to read but hadn’t the time or books that I was too afraid to even try to read because I’d tried before and I couldn’t get passed the first couple of chapters.  I don’t know what it was about the earlier years of motherhood but I seemed to have had my attention span sucked out of me.  I just didn’t have the patience for full length books so I retreated to the internet and to bedtime stories with the kids.  I could barely force myself to get through magazine articles for a while there.  Don’t ask me why.  Excepting the years where I all but lived in a tree or in backyard mud puddles, I have always been a reader.  I wouldn’t classify myself as a rabid reader but I always drifted in and out of heavy reading jags.  I feel like I am at the outset of a reading jag that I hope to continue always.

So I decided to set up a special book blog, called The Book Loft, where anyone can send in  their thoughts and reviews of books they are  currently reading, have read or plan to read.  It’s hopefully going to be a place where people will start discussions, share their initial thoughts or even write longer, more thought provoking reviews of something they have recently read, whether new or old, whether rather vanilla or controversial.

I started the ball rolling with a super quick overview of a book I read a couple of months ago.  I hope others will want to join in.

The Book Loft

Who knows, maybe it will just be me talking to myself about books I read.  I’m okay with that.  As Stuart Smalley used to say, “I’m good enough.  I’m smart enough.  And doggonit, people like me.”

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I LOVE to read. But I never seem to have time to go and actually get a book to read. Perhaps this will motivate me to make the time. Right now, all I am reviewing are cookbooks. Although I can contribute with some awesome past reads.

  2. Jillybean, cookbooks are books and I think we need more cookbooks reviewed… of all things those are the most important books to review I think because you have to eat the contents! LOL So cookbooks definitely count!

  3. I absolutely love reading, but my brain likely does not function well enough for classics right now. It’s more into quick fluff lately. With a six-month-old who believes that waking multiple times throughout the night is still acceptable, my brain remains mush much of the time. I will be visiting your blog, though!

    Laura’s last blog post..Ahhhh, SNOW!

  4. This is gonna be a great place for some good book recommendations! Can’t wait!

    Moobee Ma’s last blog post..Steamy

What are your thoughts?

