Another "Must Read" by Tim Keller…

Tim Keller has long been a favorite with us.  Long before he published a book we liked the guy because of his sermons and lectures on tape (yeah… that’s a while back! LOL)  Several months back I blogged about his book The Reason for God:  Belief in an Age of Skepticism.  That book was a New York Times Best Seller and deservedly so.  I have gone back to it several times and reread portions of it for further mental and spiritual digestion.

book

Today Indigo Books had its wonderfully awesome 30% hardcover sale so when I saw this baby sitting on a rather picked over dedicated end-cap I quickly swiped up his new book The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith and it has proven to be a tiny nugget of masterfully written truth-revealing literature.  I only call it a tiny nugget because I was able to read it in less than two hours.  But like its more robust “elder brother” (sorry, couldn’t help myself), The Reason for God, it is chock full of truth and beauty and graciously dispersed conviction for both the wayward and the self-assured alike and, despite its diminutive size, will likely draw its readers in for a second helping of the same stuff.

You simply must read it.  I don’t care who you are.  You really must.  It’s small and easily digestible so there should be no arguments on the “it’s too long and involved” front and it has a great price-tag, especially over at Amazon right now.  Tim Keller’s demeanor is humbly gracious and respectful, as usual.

Highly recommended.

And can I have one singular second to momentarily brag on my husband? The man to whom this book is dedicated, Dr. Edmund P. Clowney honored my husband greatly by speaking at his ordination into the ministry.  They both underwent exams together at the South Texas Presbytery (PCA) back in 2000; my husband for ordination and Dr. Clowney for Presbytery transfer.  He paid my husband a very kind compliment that day, after which our pastor at the time said to my husband, “Okay brother, you can die now.”  Okay, brag over. Thankfully our acceptance before God isn’t dependent upon the acceptance and accolades given by man.  They certainly aren’t necessary but they are sort of nice now and then though.

5 thoughts on “Another "Must Read" by Tim Keller…”

  1. Whew! I know I have got to start reading more often. I have a couple books I have picked up, but usually never get around to reading them because they are long, wordy, and quite frankly–boring. You may have changed my mind on this one though. I plan on visiting Half-Price this week, so maybe I will find it there and pick it up. We all need a good read every once and a while. I guess I just get all my fab reading from the blogs I read (do I get brownie points for that remark?). Hee, hee.

    Allie’s last blog post..Show and Tell Tuesday

What are your thoughts?

