A Royal Room

Our boys love history.  I think it is all of their favorite subject.  We are taking our study of Medieval times to the next level this year.  Both of our big boys decided to forfeit birthday parties and gifts in order to get a sweet new room decor.  We are turning their tiny lair into a royal castle.

Painting your kids room like a castle isn’t that hard actually.  I mean, it’s a lot of work but it’s easier than you might think.

We are in the in between stages of getting it done right now.  First we painted a medium brownish grey base coat.  Next we outlined the stones with chalk, trying to maintain a somewhat natural and non-uniform look.  Then, using 1 and 2 inch foam brushes we used both a light grey (medium grey mixed with white) and a darker grey (all of these in the same grey family) and painted in each of the stones, focusing more light grey in the upper and right quadrant as well as in the middle.  We used the dark grey to create more shadowy effects in the bottom and left quadrants and also towards the middle.  We are finishing each square by blotching what we have painted with wadded up plastic grocery bags.  This is a messy job!

cw5

cw4

cw3

cw1

We are obviously not done yet.  We will have to touch up the “mortar” with our base color paint.  Lastly we will let it all dry completely and then we will wash off any remaining visible chalk marks.  Then we can begin the next step in the process.

Now you may look at this and imagine that one might begin to feel quite closed in with all of these stone walls.  But we will be breaking this up with wall decor.

KE2014

Right now Ikea has some really cute “wall torches” in stock.  At our local resale store we found plastic silver coated chargers which we will place right behind each torch so that the light reflects off of it and creates a bit more light.  I’ll let you know how this works out!  In addition to the torches we have found some neat medieval style tapestries and banners.  We plan to hang two shields as well.

21443

d_14

And the other day we came across a very special find… a replica of William Wallace’s sword, vastly marked down to a price that was actually affordable.  (Don’t worry, it will be horizontally mounted over their closet far out of their reach!)  We removed their closet doors and will hang royal red curtains (another fabulous sale find at 60% off!) that will match their window curtains, both of which will be drawn back with braided gold tassels which I found for a fairly cheap price at our local fabric store.

And because I know you all are dying to witness this, here is my man quoting Monty Python’s Quest for the Holy Grail.

Oh and this is not related at all but this is just further proof that waking up is hard to do…

wuh2d

wuh2d2

17 thoughts on “A Royal Room”

  1. It looks/sounds great, Nan! What fun your boys will have with this room! We never did the whole room up, but the boys had plenty of swords, shields, etc. Caleb got a reproduction William Wallace sword for his birthday one year. Josh has finally put most of it away.

    I just have one thing to say to that clip:
    Your mother was a hamster and your father smelled of elderberries!
    One of my favorite insults of all times;o)

  2. Isn’t decorating for your boys so much fun!?! I think the castle theme is so cool! Being a muralist, I know how much hard work it takes to do what you are taking on. Great job!

    Here is a link to the corner mural I painted in my son’s room. He wanted a seascape with a lighthouse. Here is what he got.

    http://www.screweduptexan.com/2008/09/finished-seascape-mural.html

    PS: Your little one is so cute with his spiked hair!

    Now, if only I could get my husband involved with the decorating!

    Allie’s last blog post..Okie Adventures: Armadillo Man

  3. I’m now living on the south coast of England, quite near where the Battle of Hastings took place on October 14, 1066 and where William of Normandy (later to be known as William the Conqueror) defeated King Harold and became King of England. English Heritage has done a wonderful interactive learning experience and it would be great if y’all ever made it over here. So much history!

  4. Wow! I love how you described the painting process as if just any old person could do that. 😉 That is so not in my particular skill set!

    I hope your boys have many merry adventures in their new room. Do they have stick horses, er, steeds?

  5. I was thinking what Mindee said. I loved how you said “It’s easier than you think…” and then go into this paragraph where the only thing I understood was the word grey. It looks gorgeous though. I’m sure your kids are going to love it, I know my son would.

    Alice’s last blog post..Happy Birthday Martin

  6. Thanks everyone… It’s coming along. Our arms HURT! (But maybe that’s from a couple of hours worth of snow/muck shoveling the day before?) I had to go to bed before it was completed last night but my darling hubby stayed up and finished all of the stones. Now we just have to touch it up. Trust me when I say painting is not in our particular skill set either!! I promise. My crafty talents lie mostly in the digital realm.

    Theresa, my husband went to England when he was 16 or 17. We would LOVE to go. I’ve never been. I must go to Scotland and Ireland some day… I have this little itty bitty problem though… I HATE FLYING with a passion… (Ask my sister Sandy, up there in the comments.) Funny because I used to not mind it… but then I had kids. I fly when I have to though. LOL I’m pretty sure a trip to Europe would be worth it. Someday…

  7. I absolutely hate to fly, too, but we have to do the “over the pond” journey twice a year. We went to Edinburgh (highly recommended – loved it!) at the beginning of December and I had a panic attack the morning we had to fly home. We’re flying back to Texas in less than three weeks and I’m worried about how I’ll do. Of course, knowing it’s the only way to get there for the birth of my first grandchild makes it a bit easier, I think. *fingers crossed*

  8. LOL Pamela! Well, it really was WE for 95% of it but due to many late nights and some serious heavy snow shoveling the day before I was so exhausted that I left the last little bit for him to finish up on his own. But to make up for it I’m doing all of the touch up work tonight which I think will put us at just about even! :^D

  9. This is such a cool idea! My little boy loves fairy tales and this provides the perfect environment for storytelling. I don’t know if I have the time to commit to a project on such a grand scale, but it’s an awesome idea nonetheless. Great job guys!

  10. I love this, and this is what my boy wants (and I’m going to try to complete while he’s at Grandmas for the week). Just wondering if you used wall paint for the stones or acrylic craft paints or mixed anything with glaze.
    Thanks!

What are your thoughts?

