I got a golden ticket?

Ive Got a Golden Ticket – Charlie

Today we got to take a field trip with our homeschool group to a local world famous chocolate factory.  And to our dismay there were no little tiny orange people working der inventing room, nor was there any doublebubbleburpacola… NOR may I add were there any fizzy lifting drinks.  But we decided we wouldn’t let those things get to us.  After all there were also no mechanical puppet heads catching on fire and for that we were very greatful.

We went to the factory owned and operated by Bernard Callebaut where world renown chocolate is made.  The smell of this place is enough to give you a chocolate high.

But our day started before we got to the chocolate factory.  We decided that it would be a fun experience for the boys if we took the bus and the train downtown.  They had a great time and felt very adventurous.

bt1

tbs

cbs

tb

tb1

The Pastor is an old pro at taking the train as he does it quite frequently.  It was nice not having to guess which bus to catch and what time we had to be where.  Our guide took very good care of us.  And he looked hot while doing so.

sb2

Which reminds me… A homeless man on the street asked us if all of these boys were ours.  When I nodded yes, he asked if we knew what caused it (har har).  Well… I don’t know what got into me but I piped up and answered him with a hearty, “Yes!  And we do it lots!”  Really.  I said that.  I don’t know what came over me. (The man responded that he agreed with my mindset by the way.)  My husband chuckled and moments later said, “You’ve been wanting to respond that way for a long time haven’t you?” (Because we get that kind of question a lot.)  Yes, that answer had been waiting there under the surface like so much lava and it just finally found the moment to make its escape.

But I digress.

When we got to the chocolate factory we were greeted by this beautiful individual.

ac2

That’s an Aztec made entirely out of chocolate.  I much prefer this to exploding mechanical puppet heads.  (If you have no idea what I’m talking about, please refer to the “new” version of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.)

The rest of the relatively short tour went something like this…

yum

cp3

yum yum

cp2

yum yum yum

cr

yum yum cock-a-doodle-doo yum yum

cp

yum yum yum yum yum

cwf1

And more yum.  See that up there… turns out that’s what real chocolate waterfalls look like.  Nothing like they do in the movies.

It was a super fun day even though the tour was short.  After the tour we ate lunch downtown at a Mediterranean place that makes the most amazing Shawarma.  I want to go back.  Every day.  For a million years.  It was so yummy.  I ate like a pig.

And then this evening we saw the most beautiful sunset out our front window… It’s really a crying shame that all of these pesky houses and power lines ruin such an otherwise gorgeous view…

ss9

ss3

ss5

ss4

13 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “I piped up and answered him with a hearty, “Yes! And we do it lots!” ”

    *ROFL* hahahahahaha *grin* love it!

    Great pics – and yum! (I’ve never actually watched the newer willy wonka – afraid it will wreck the old one for me!)…beautiful sunset. 🙂

    Molytail’s last blog post..Apologia Biology Giveaway

  2. Wow. God makes the prettiest pictures.

  3. “Yes! And we do it lots!”

    That is the funniest thing I heard all day….granted it is 7:30am but I don’t know what’s going to top that.

    I love the skys out here, they appear so much bigger then back home.
    Have a good day!!
    m

    Islandgirl’s last blog post..Cold, Snow, Turning 26 and other randomness:

  4. I always get a chuckle out of your blog Nan! 🙂

    And just so you know, you aren’t the only one who doesn’t like it when power lines and roof tops get in the way of her beautiful sunsets! 🙂 Your pictures are beautiful though – even with the power lines. They are an unavoidable part of the “cityscape” that most of us live so close to. 🙂

    Risa’s last blog post..Eight!

  5. Oh goodness gracious! My mouth is watering, my tongue is pulsating and I totally wouldve eaten that Aztec god. Totally.

    Nice sunset photographs are an excellent end to a perfectly chocolatey day.

    If only my school days were like this.

    PS: Thanks for the compliments.

    Allie’s last blog post..Okie Adventures: Prisoner’s Lament

  6. Another great answer to that question is “Yes! And apparently we’re good at it.”

    did you get free chocolate?

    Christina’s last blog post..Obama Chili

  7. Hi Nancy!

    How are you? I am a friend of Janine’s. Can’t wait to meet you at her PC party. I have lived here so long and I have never been to the Bernard Callebaut factory. I am so jealous. And such a small world….the pic you have of the first lady in the factory~~~her name is Rosalia. She was one of my insureds and is just a sweetheart!

    Charlene Austin’s last blog post..Elzybells Challenge #12

  8. Hi Nancy!

    How are you? I am a friend of Janine’s. Can’t wait to meet you at her PC party. I have lived here so long and I have never been to the Bernard Callebaut factory. I am so jealous. And such a small world….the pic you have of the first lady in the factory~~~her name is Rosalia. She was one of my insureds and is just a sweetheart!

  9. Mmmm… I hope they gave out free samples!! Looks like fun and your boys sure are cute!

    Tabitha (From Single to Married)’s last blog post..Getting Engaged – (Part 8 – Final)

  10. in my mind I’m picturing an old steal drum, a fire inside, and several old blokes warming their hands – and laughing as one told the story about the woman who “did it lots”

    Pamela’s last blog post..Todays Headlines

  11. Okay- I LOVE that you said that to the homeless man! Go Nan!!

    My question is…who are all these handsome boys and what ever happened to the little baby boys I used to see on your blog??

    They have grown up so fast! I just had boy #3….trying to be cool like the Douds!

    Love from Idaho,

    Daedre

  12. I love your response to “Do you know what causes that?” We have five children and get asked that ALL the time. I will definitely be using your words from now on, lol. Or the other suggestion from one of your other readers: “Yes! And apparently we’re good at it.”

    Shirley’s last blog post..I May Be A Sucker, but I’m Not The Only One.

  13. I love your response to “Do you know what causes that?” We have five children and get asked that ALL the time. I will definitely be using your words from now on, lol. Or the other suggestion from one of your other readers: “Yes! And apparently we’re good at it.”

What are your thoughts?

