Our History Wall of Fame

I’ll probably soon write a post for Blissfully Domestic: Homeschool relating just how much I think every homeschooler needs a home laminator.  But for now I just want to share with you one of my most recent projects for making our school room a little more schooly.

It’s our History Wall of Fame.

wof2

I plan to make enough to fill up that whole part of the wall from top to bottom.

My boys absolutley love history.  They come by it honestly.  Their father majored in church history when he got his Master’s of Theology Degree.  And for the short time that I went to college (yes, you heard that right, I did not graduate college and ya know what?  I don’t regret it for a second!  I loved my experience there, mostly because of the friends that I made but I am thankful for the turns that life took, including the one that led to me deciding not to finish University.  But I digress.)  When I was there I majored in history and English.  I couldn’t decide.  And wouldn’t you know, I ended up being interested in two things completely unrelated; computers and photography.  I digress again.  Sorry.

wof3

So right in line with our love for history, we have decided to school-up the school room with a History Wall of Fame.  I took several pictures of some of our favorite men from history (we are focusing on men simply because we are raising boys here and looking at role models from history) from the internet, slapped the person’s name on there in Photoshop, laminated the poor dudes and hung them on the wall using Elmer’s repositionable tacky spray.  And I think it looks fabulous if I do say so myself.  I mean, it is a school room after all.

wof1

We picked men from the various fields of science, mathematics, literature, exploration, economics, politics, church history and philosophy.  I still have a few that must get up there;  William Shakespeare, Christopher Columbus, Henry Hudson, Squanto, Mark Twain…and several others.

You might ask why I didn’t put Jesus up there.  Couple of reasons.  He’s not a mere mortal.   We don’t know what he looked like and I will not settle for modern Anglo-American representations of him, or any representation of him, for that matter…. Among other things.  But that’s why Jesus isn’t on my History Wall of Fame.  He is the purpose of History so I’d hate to lump Him in with all of the other players.

11 thoughts on “Our History Wall of Fame”

  1. Love the history wall you’ve got going on! So far, I think I am the only one in my family interested in history. This last weekend I read up on Scottish history. One of my favorite hobbies is family history. On my father’s side I have the family traced to the 1400s and on my husband’s side to the 1300s. It is interesting to see where people come from, what they were going through, and what they possibly had to deal with. On a side note, it was interesting to see that one of my direct anscestors got publically beat while pregnant for being a man’s mistress. He got out of the public beating by simply buying his way out with tobacco. Argh! The injustice.

    May I borrow your laminator? 🙂

    Screwed Up Texan’s last blog post..Declaration of Romantic Intent: Perfect for Valentines or any Romantic Event

  2. “We don’t know what he looked like and I will not settle for modern Anglo-American representations of him”

    I’ve never been to your site before, but this sentence alone makes me want to applaud you.

    Anneli’s last blog post..Valentine’s Day

What are your thoughts?

