Ode to the Evil that is Legos

A friend of mine on Facebook posted today about how legos are automatic mess makers and it just hit very close to home. I’ve been battling legos for a long time. Today it made its way out as a poem.

Each lego is a plastic curse.
They are under the bed and then in my purse.
They line the halls and obstruct the doors.
They gather in piles on multiple floors.
They hide in cracks and crevices
and then they grow legs like tortoises.
They make their way into every room.
They get caught in the vacuum and swept by the broom.
No matter what, they never stay put
and are especially evil when under your foot.

By me
written just now
:^D

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I take it you had a mishap with the Legos? Personally, I dont know what the kids did with most of theirs…I think they dumped them down the hole in the wall.

    Screwed Up Texan’s last blog post..The Boudin Gods Have Spoken: Winners of the Spring Giveaway!

  2. If you prefer stepping in puddles to stepping on sharp lego pieces I do have a lego ice cube tray that you could borrow 🙂

    Dave’s last blog post..How good is bottled water?

  3. You’re a poet!

    I have boys and girls and refer to both Legos and Polly Pocket/Barbie accessories as “vacuumables”.

    Mindee@ourfrontdoor’s last blog post..What To Do With A Sick Kid

  4. We are just getting into the legos here. We’re still on the bigger ones until I can feel sure that Erin won’t try to eat one. I so look forward to getting to your stage… not! 🙂

    Laura’s last blog post..Lookie, lookie lookie!!

  5. ooooooooooooohhhhhh yes. I see this at my daughters houses.

    Pamela’s last blog post..A Recipe for Happiness

  6. I search half the day in the sofa, under the bed
    Looking for the tiny gun or hair from the head
    Of some little tiny Lego guy.
    And meanwhile the Legos multiply.

  7. I see you have graduated from the large lego’s to the itty bitty ones. I have not allowed that to enter here yet.But it’s only a matter of time…….. 🙂

    Danielle & Jeff’s last blog post..Whatever!

  8. Sandy Kientzler March 20, 2009 — 9:53 am

    LOVE it! Alaina liked it too!

  9. Believe it or not, some day all the Legos will be in a big plastic bin all put away in the garage. Your children will be all grown up, through college and married to the Christian spouses you are praying for now. You will miss their Lego season of life. Be in the moment joyfully with them now.

  10. My kids are nearly grown now and i can’t say I miss stepping on those little lego pieces in the dark in bare feet (Ouch!) but I must admit I can’t quite get rid of the stuff – it’s in boxes waiting for grandkids LOL

    Jan’s last blog post..How to Choose the Right Lamp Shades

What are your thoughts?

