A Book Giveaway! Thanks for playing everyone! Winners have been chosen!

Is your head swimming with all of the economic “stuff” that is coming at you seemingly at the speed of light in the news? Does some of it just hit you like a bunch of mumbo-jumbo that only “economists” can understand? I confess I felt that way for a long time until recently when I decided to just stick my neck out there and try to at least begin to understand, at its very core, what is happening with the economy and why. I had to start at the most basic, most accessible level because… well, I’m more of a “liberal arts” person and less of a “numbers” person. The great thing I’ve found about economics though is that it actually is much more “liberal artsy” than it might first strike you.

So I bought the book Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt (contributor to the following publications at various times in his life: The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Newsweek, and The American Mercury, among other publications.), originally written in 1946.

I didn’t want a book that pitted me for or against any certain current politician but rather weighed economic philosophies against each other on a rational level in an easy to read format so I figured a book written over 50 years ago would be safe from mentioning current politicians.  However, as I have read through it (aside from some of the actual prices of things mentioned being so different) it has been remarkable to see how closely the situations we are seeing played out today were delineated and discussed in the book, almost as if it was written for today, which speaks to the timeless nature of economic philosophies in general. This book fulfilled my non-partisan (non-name-mentioning) mandate quite well for me. Do I sound like a commercial? I don’t mean to… Well, okay so maybe I do… because this book is wonderful and easily digestible. I’m only half-way through it but it is so easy to read and makes such good sense that I want to pass it on.

In fact, I want to pass it on so much that I am going to give one copy to 5 people. Leave a comment on this post and/or on my FB note and I will randomly select the winners (so if you are a FB friend you can actually enter twice… please don’t request me as a FB friend just for this purpose though… if I don’t recognize your name as one of my regular readers or people I “know” online to some extent, I will not accept your request.) Please only enter if you will actually read the book! But if you care about what is happening with the economy today at all, you should want to read this book. (Family members, please abstain from entering.  Sorry!  Just want to be fair.)  Giveaway closes on Friday the 27th at 11:59 p.m.

I realize giving away a book on economics isn’t the sexiest of giveaways but you know… I don’t care.  Some things that should be common knowledge just aren’t sexy topics!

This contest is now closed! Thanks for playing!

25 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Awesome, my hubby and I would love reading this!

    Sarah Elliott’s last blog post..Take a guess!

  2. I am definitely interested in reading the book. I have plenty of opinions but I feel very inadequate making an argument when I can’t very well understand the whole gist to begin with. Bits and pieces add up and then there are parts that make no sense whatsoever! Thanks for the contest 🙂

    Kim’s last blog post..Update!

  3. I would love to read this book. I live somewhere between wanting to know and wanting to live in denial! lol! I’m guessing living in denial isn’t the smartest reaction to the current economic crisis. Thanks for the contest.

  4. I am a new reader of your blog–don’t ask me how I found it, I couldn’t even begin to figure out the route thru cyberspace.

    This contest is timely, as just yesterday (after
    seeing Mr.Obama on 60 Minutes) I decided I need
    to learn a LOT more about economics. I would like to be able to speak more intelligently about how we got where we are, and why the solutions that are being offered are not good ones.

    ~Nancy (aka PawPawNan, but who was also called
    “Shenanigans” by her dad)

  5. This book has actually been on my wish list for some time. Since we homeschool, I’m always on the lookout for good texts in different subjects, and this is at the top of my list for economics. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Joy @ Five J’s’s last blog post..Menu Plan: Week of March 23

  6. Could I just borrow yours?

  7. Okay, I am entering the giveaway (doncha just love doing these?) Although, if I win, just give the book to Joy @ 5 Js. I dont know her and have never visited her blog, but it would be better in her hands than mine. Am I allowed to do that on a contest? 🙂 She’s #6 to enter.

    Screwed Up Texan’s last blog post..Take the Time

  8. “Does some of it just hit you like a bunch of mumbo-jumbo that only “economists” can understand?”

    Very much so. I’d love to read a book that brings it down to the layman level!

    Molytail’s last blog post..Tuba Tuba Tuba Tuba Tuba ….

  9. Oooh…pick me, pick me!

  10. Ok – I’ll enter your contest. 😉

  11. I’ll probably win, thats all I need is one more book to read. I’m loving it though!
    We better keep up or we may get left out and left behind .

  12. I just saw somebody else wrote, Ooooh, pick me! Pick me!! I was gonna use that line. 🙂

  13. sounds fabulous and thanks so much for the giveaway

  14. Looks like a book everyone should read

  15. I’m interested in reading this. I’ve been watching the economy for a long time now and it’s interesting and depressing.

  16. Hi gf – I don’t do FB but I subscribe on Google reader. I am still back at the beginning. I have been starting brand new with shopping and trying to live more frugally. I would love to be able to wrap my brain around why so many families are struggling. If this book helps me grasp the concept, I will sit and pour through it until I do.

    It’s a generous give-away, Nan! Esp since most of your readers are international shipping for you. 🙂

    Ps – I like this theme. Since I usually read you a reader, I hadn’t seen it in person yet.

    darcy @ lwm3b’s last blog post..7 Weeks of Meatless Fridays: Week 5

  17. Hey Nancy,

    This is a great book. I’m in the middle of it right now. I think we should make every candidate for elected office read it, as well as every person who votes.

    I think we’re going to need a lot more than 5 copies!

  18. I would dearly love to win.

  19. I would like to read this to understand things better.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  20. I forgot to look for the deadline – I’m probably entering late because I’m a dork like that! Oh, well… *waves*

  21. I would love to win this for my whole family to read. This includes hubby, 3 grown children, son-in-law and 2 of my 5 grandchildren. Well, ok…hubby already knows all this, but I don’t. 😉 Thanks! 🙂

  22. I’d love to read this book. My family would also. We’ve been discussing this very thing and how great it would be if someone could explain economics to people in layman’s terms.

  23. Have I entered? I meant to!

    M&Co.’s last blog post..More Evidence I should be mother of the year

  24. Count me in please!!

    Jeff

    Danielle & Jeff’s last blog post..My trip to Kentucky, Part 1 of ??

  25. Hey Nan!
    Sounds like a great book! I hated taking economics in college so maybe a book will help me understand the basics! My husband & I will both read this!

Comments are closed.

