Meet my friends, Yumalicious & Double Yumalicious

Two recipes of irresistable yumminess and health value.

Yumalicious would be this thick, creamy homemade yogurt.  I got this recipe about a year ago from someone on a homeschooling message board on which I used to participate.

In a 3 Quart pot/saucepan mix

  • 1 Quart of Whole Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Milk
  • 1 Tbsp. Cornstarch
  • 1/4 Cup White Sugar (or 1/4 tsp. Stevia) (optional)
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla (optional)

Scald this mixture over medium high heat for several minutes.  You must vigilantly stir.  Stir continually.  Stir with a great sense of committment to the betterment of society through the joys of creamy homemade yogurt.  If you don’t stir you will scorch the milk on the bottom of the pan and we don’t want that.  Keep it nice and hot (stirring, stirring, stirring) for a good three minutes.  You can turn the heat down to medium if you think it’s getting close to burning.

Remove from heat.

Let milk cool to between 100 and 115 degrees.  For you who live in the south, I pity you, for this may take a very long time.  For me, thanks to the strange occurrence of snow in June it took about 10 minutes tops.  (I put the pot outside and went out and stirred it once or twice.)  I have a yogurt thermometer that helped me be exact about the temperature.

Once it is the right temperature add 2 Tbsp. of Fresh Yogurt with live cultures (I use a nice fatty 4%+ yogurt for my starter because I like thick, creamy yogurt.)  I also poured off the whey before adding the yogurt.  I didn’t want any extra liquid to put the creaminess factor in jeopardy.  Whisk well until it’s all mixed in.

Pour into yogurt containers (if you have a Donvier yogurt maker — which I highly recommend), cover them and turn the maker on.  I like my yogurt firmer so I let it cook longer.  About 9 hours.  But this does mean your yogurt will have more of a kick/twang.  You should let it cook for at least 4 hours.  You don’t have to have a yogurt maker though.  You can pour the milk into glass quart jars, cover and place in a warm location (115°).  Some use a cooler lined with towels and place a heating pad (set on low) inside, cover with a towel and then place the lid on the cooler.  But the yogurt maker rocks and takes the guess work out.  And I like having the single portion cups.

When the yogurt has finished place it in the refrigerator until cold.

Angels will sing and you will marvel at the fact that you just made this super yummy supply of creaminess.  I like stirring a bit of cinnamon sugar into mine.  So good.

The second friend is Double Yumalicious.  This is a recipe that my cousin’s wife gave to me after I held her up at gunpoint to give it to me because it was so good.  No, I didn’t really.  I don’t own a gun unless you count the waterguns we bought the other day.  When we stayed at their house I clearly remember waking up to the most heavenly smell in the known universe.  When she sent me the recipe I made it that night.  And lo a beam of light shown down from heavenly realms and a chorus of birds began to sing to the accompinment of harp playing cherubs.  Seriously.

Here are the simple instructions to have a similar divine granola inspired encounter.

In a large bowl combine:

  • 13 Cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 Cups chopped nuts (I used half almonds, half pecans)
  • 1 Cup Sunflower Seeds (optional)

In another microwave safe bowl combine:

  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. Vanilla
  • 1 Cup Honey
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Cup Olive Oil

(Wow.  I left out an important three steps right about here.  I am a real genius.)  So stir the liquid/sugar mixture together and throw it in the microwave for about 2 minutes on high.  Give it another good stir when you remove it then pour it over the oat mixture and stir it really well until all of the oats are coated nicely.  Spread the goods onto 2 large baking sheets (line with parchment paper if you have it) and place in a preheated 300° oven for 1 hour.

At the half-way point switch the pans top to bottom and give the granola a stir.  Remove from oven when the hour is up.  Your olfactory glands will be ready to jump out of your face and dive into the oven before the granola is ready.  Please don’t let them do that.  Not only would it ruin the eating experience, it will probably ruin your life in the end.  Keep them at bay if possible.  I love to eat the granola when it’s still warm.  The angels and birds and cherubs seem to sing and play at higher decibals when it’s still warm.  Could just be my olfactory glands making all that noise though.  I haven’t scientifically tested this.

And if you are guessing that these two friends would be more lovely if they went hand in hand you would be onto something my friend.  You would be right on the money.

2 thoughts on “Meet my friends, Yumalicious & Double Yumalicious”

What are your thoughts?

