Family Goodies..

Remember my brother Mike, I posted about him a good bit last Fall?  Many of you have e-mailed asking how he is doing now.  So I thought I’d update.  He still struggles as you may expect, some days more another.  But over all I think he’s doing a good bit better than before.  Pray for him as he seeks to become more independent from our parents in life but yet more dependent on Christ.

Though, sadly, I couldn’t be there for this because I live in Canada and he lives in California, I wanted to share some recent pictures of him.  I borrowed them from a friend of his that was there.  I hope he doesn’t mind!

n570895271_3873734_6340971

n570895271_3873735_709306

This is his friend who sat for hours and hours holding his hand, praying and reading scripture to him at his bedside last year when Mike wasn’t even aware of it.  He has remained a steadfast friend…

n570895271_3873736_3211362

I don’t know this man personally but I am so touched by the expression on his face after his baptism.

fbaptism

n570895271_3873732_4677513

God is so good.

“I Corinthithians 1:

18For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19For it is written,

“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.”

20 Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. 22For Jews demand signs and Greeks seek wisdom, 23but we preach Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and folly to Gentiles, 24but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.”

——–

In other wonderful news, my big brother has chosen a bride for himself.  We couldn’t be happier for them.  She is a delightful woman and someone that having only met through e-mail and blogs, I consider a sweet friend.  I can’t wait to call her sister!

This is Heather and Phil!  Please go to her blog to read more about her.  She is truly an amazing woman whom I greatly respect and from whom I have so much to learn.

6449_1174267687403_1549383729_30457906_7255547_n

I can’t wait to celebrate their wedding with them!  And then Christmas!

A little crazy added fun fact is that Heather was reading my blog I think before she even met my brother and once she did meet him, she had no idea he and I were related.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thats Wonderful for Mike! Nan, the Gentleman who was baptised in the second picture…Is with almost 100% certainty Mr Ford Johnson. Please tell Phil I am very Happy for Him!!!

    Mike

  2. Nan,
    The pictures of Mike’s baptism are great. We didn’t even have that good of a view!
    Thanks for the sweet compliments. It is true…I have been lurking and reading for much longer than I have known Phil. I am so excited to be a part of his family and count it a blessing to already be accepted with so much love.
    Your future sister-in-law,
    Heather

    Heather Davis’s last blog post..O God Beyond All Praising

  3. This was such good news! I’m so glad to hear that he is still on the healing track. What wonderful pictures. Such joy!
    And an ever-growing family is such a blessing. Congratulations to your brother and his bride-to-be. That is a funny story about how you “knew” one another before you knew who you were.
    What? I think you get it. 🙂

  4. What joyful tears this news brings to me, and seeing those pictures… I still have goosebumps! Thank you so much for sharing your life so openly. I’m so glad I found you, or rather that God led me to you. He placed it on my heart to start praying for you and your family from the first post about Mike, and continues to show me reasons to keep the prayers going!

  5. OOPS! p.s. Congratulations, Heather and Phil!

  6. That IS Ford in the wheel chair! I almost cried a couple weeks ago at the Sunday evening hymn sing when he requested Just a Closer Walk with Thee…

  7. Thanks for the update Nan! And congrats to your older brother 🙂

    Colleen’s last blog post..Going through some old posts…

  8. What a blessing! Thank you for sharing!

What are your thoughts?

