Today…

Today I had the consult for my sleep clinic appointment.  It went well and by God’s grace my full-night sleep clinic is next Monday which also happens to be my husband’s birthday.  Amazing how quickly these things can get rolling when you don’t go fully through the public system.  The clinic we are going to is something in between private and public.  They call it a “community based” clinic.  I’m not sure what the distinction is but I’m thankful for it.  The neurologist told me that it would have taken at least a year on a waiting list to get this full-night sleep clinic done in the public system.   Yesterday we met with the neurologist and she was nothing short of wonderful.  She listened and took notes and moved quickly to help us start getting this problem figured out.  She was pretty confident in clearing me of worrying about things like brain tumors or things that we all dread like MS and such just based on the standard neurological office exam.  I have better than perfect eye-sight (20/16) as always so that is a great sign by itself that there is not something profoundly amiss “up there.”  She feels that I most likely have some sort of REM sleep disorder or possibly (though less likely) nocturnal epilepsy (which if you ask me is profound enough!)  I have been instructed not to drive until they rule that out.  Thankfully I’ve hardly been driving at all since getting sick in August so this will be less of an adjustment than it might have otherwise been.

The doctor that I saw at the sleep clinic today was super as well.  I am confident that I am getting good care now which in and of itself is a huge relief.  So for all that we had to go through with my doctor (who I still believe is a wonderful, just very stressed-out, person) to get to this point, I am very thankful that we are at least on a path to figuring out this mysterious sleep problem(s?!)  Along with the sleep clinic test I am also scheduled for a CT Scan and a baseline EEG.  Please pray that God will reveal the source of the tumult in my sleep patterns to the doctors so that we can treat it appropriately and get me sleeping well once and for all.  Pray also that God will give me peace and a heart that trusts Him completely with my body, mind and soul.

It seems one’s soul is perhaps the easiest thing to put in God’s hands.  We seem to want to hang on to control in the other two realms a lot more!  At least I know I do.  My struggle in this area reminds me of my  struggles many years ago with God’s sovereignty.  I believed He was sovereign in theory but only came to accept His ultimate sovereignty over salvation itself after a pretty major spiritual struggle.  He is good in all ways all of the time and He will work all things, no matter how much they grieve us or challenge us in every realm of our lives, to His glory and our good.

Trust and Obey.

“I believe, help me in my unbelief!”

In other news, we put my Mom on a plane tonight.  I don’t know how I would have survived the past two weeks without her.  She not only comforted me and spoke wisdom to me, she loved on the boys, cleaned, organized, cooked, cleaned, organized and cleaned and organized.  She never ceases to amaze me with her servant’s heart.  She is one spunky lady who just keeps serving in an Energizer Bunny sort of fashion.  I hope that I can be of similar service to my loved ones throughout the years.  Thank you so much Mom, both for serving us so humbly and tirelessly but for setting such an example for me.  Thank you for humoring me in my tiredness and emotional melt-downs.  The way you dropped everything and came when I begged you to come means more to me than you know.  Or maybe you do know from your own experiences.  Thank you so much.

We already miss you!  Love you.

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nan, as I read your last two posts I just wanted to cry! It sounds so crazy, and awful for you, and then when you said that your husband called the doctor and said you had to come back, that he had lost a lot of sleep because of you, I had to giggle. But really, I am encouraged by your thoughts on the care you are going to receive. I am glad your mom was able to come and help. I am thankful that you are able to put your boys in school for the time being (or whatever) so that everyone can get what they need. I will pray that you will indeed get answers, and that the doctors will be given wisdom. You are in the hands of a Healer!
    Blessings on you and your family.

  2. I’m so glad that you are finally getting the health care you need. I know the wait and the struggle to get there must have been very frustrating. And the fact that some of the major concerns can be ruled out it also a blessing. Hang in there.

    Rose Broce’s last blog post..Bits and Pieces From Our Day

  3. I am so thankful that you are getting care! I understand what you are talking about in regards to trusting God with our bodies and minds. It’s tough to remember that he created these bodies that we worry over so much. It would be like our personal works of art being concerned about itself while we are the ones who created it and knew how to fix it and what the purpose of those things that make the work interesting.

    Tina’s last blog post..Grouping

  4. Glad you posted an update. I’ve been thinking of you & praying for your dr. appts. the past few days. Glad things are moving in the right direction & you’re getting the help you need.

  5. Hang in there, Nan!

  6. So sorry to hear about your recent health problems. Just wanted to let you know a fellow PCAer in Virginia will be praying for you and for a quick and accurate diagnosis that will lead to treatment.

    And as a doctor, I’m appalled at your last story. You are very gracious to your doctor and how you were treated. Praying for God’s guidance for your current doctors.

  7. Love you guys. Loved being part of your lives for those two weeks. Blessings.

  8. i don’t care how old you get… there is nothing more comforting than MOMMY! especially when you live far from them…. I will be down in the Bay Area next week, and when i drop Jeremiah at the Nursery, i will be sure to give mom and extra hug for you! Please keep us posted on the sleep clinic. Our prayers are with you all.

  9. As I’ve read your posts, I feel like I’m watching an episode of “Mystery Diagnosis” unfolding, and I shudder a bit. I agree with Alice when she said you are very gracious to your doctor, and I am relieved to hear you are praying for her and not harboring ill will.

    You will have prayer chains at my church and my two sister’s churches praying for you, your family and your doctors, as well as my own continued prayer vigil.

    Please keep us posted as well as you can.

    Trish

  10. My father was recently diagnosed with Vibration sickness. He has similar symptoms with out the sleep issues. The vibrations from certain cars and/or music make him nauscious and dizzy and it takes him a few hours to recover.

    I hope this is temporary.

    A fan in Saskatchewan

What are your thoughts?

