First day of school, etc.

So, if you’ve noticed in my little “about me” there under my picture, we decided amidst my feeling like carp to put two of our boys in school this year.  It was not an easy decision and we’re still not sure how long it will stick.  Definitely until we get my health ironed out and likely for the duration of this year.  I don’t want to whip the kids around and they are enjoying themselves and doing well so while it was never in “the plan” it is working for now.  I took pictures of the momentous first day of school.  That was the day we surprised the boys with Grandma’s arrival also.  I only got a few pictures of them with her because I wasn’t in much of a picture taking mood while feeling like a semi truck had rolled over me.

Tomorrow I get my head examined.  For real.  A real live check-up from the neck up.  A CT Scan.  I’m not thrilled or looking forward to it but I hope they find something (a brain) and nothing else.  Meanwhile my sleep has been alright.  Not good or great but it’s been sleep which is more than I could have said two weeks ago.  Last night I tried to cut back a bit on my sleeping pill and woke myself up in the wee hours of the morning by suddenly and forcefully doing a gigantic karate kick into the air because I had dreamed that I was being chased down by Islamic extremists at the church I grew up in and there was dire need for some serious karate action apparently.  This is what comes of watching too much news and kids’ karate lessons and having some sort of REM sleep disorder where your brain doesn’t quite let your body know that it’s supposed to be temporarily paralyzed and not karate kick the terrorists in your head.  Thankfully my husband was spared any blunt force trauma. I’m really looking forward to talking to that sleep doctor about treatment.

Here are the pictures.  Not of my karate kick but of the other things mentioned above.

trfdos2

tfdos2

trfdos

ttrfdos

ttrfdos2walk

ttrfdoswithdad

ttrfdos3withmom

tfdos4

Gotta love that dribble of snot… It really captures the feel of childhood doesn’t it?

trfdos4

tfdos3

trclassroom

trfdos3

Meanwhile, here is one of my other children in an unguarded moment.

crazy one

And here are some muscle men.

cpj1

tsm

trpj1

And here is another unguarded moment.

cpc1

And this is my wonderful mother with my boys.

gmab1

gmb2

gmab4

gmab5

gmac2

gmac

And here is my baby sucking his thumb like it’s a Marlboro light.

cth1

cth6

cth1

Unguarded moment…

cthcrazyeyes

And unfettered cuteness.

cth7

cth3

cth5


6 thoughts on “First day of school, etc.”

  1. Gotta love that grandma! Glad she came (I know you are). Also glad your boys are enjoying the school–this is good for you too. Get well my friend. We’ll be praying for you tomorrow.

  2. Hi Nan,

    I apologize, it’s been awhile since I’ve checked your site. (It’s been awhile since I’ve checked anyone’s site though, it’s just been a crazy time lately I guess.) Anyway, I was disheartened to read about your latest health scares. Just wanted to let you know that you are in my prayers. Good luck tomorrow.

    Kari

    P.S. your pics are beautiful (as usual)!! 🙂

    Kari’s last blog post..Links

  3. I’m sure your boys will do great, and hopefully appreciate you more if/when you start homeschooling again. I never thought that I’d send my kids to public school and yet, I have and so far they are excelling, but in the back of my mind I know if it stops being a healthy place for them I may homeschool (and probably love it, just like you).

    I’m sorry to hear of your sleep issues, what a trial! I’m praying for you in Maryland, hang in there.

    Rita’s last blog post..GoD and DoG

  4. Hi Nan! I sure know how it feels to be flat on the couch, unable to get up while the children fend for themselves. My lupus has been getting better slowly over the last few years, but with the homeschooling I never really got the hang of it, so my oldest is in school this year for the first time too. I’d rather she was home, but then again, she does need to ‘do school’ more often than when I have the energy for it. I’ll be praying for you and your family through all of this! Praise God for mothers who fly in to help! My Mom has oh, so done that more than once.

    Helen’s last blog post..Freezing Pears

  5. Nan, I will continue to pray for you and your family! You sound so much better in these posts. You can hear a smile, or a hint of a smile. Your descriptions are wonderful, even though of a difficult thing for you. Thank you for sharing with us, and for letting us go with you on this path. May you continue to find comfort and healing in the hands of the One who is your ultimate Doctor.
    And it should make you feel good to know that if you ever were in need of taking some bad guy down, you could totally do it. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

