"Internet Branding" is probably wasted on me

As you can see, I have changed my blog name and look again. What can I say? Internet branding is somewhat wasted on me. I have managed to stick with “Life is Like a Lunchbox” for what? Three years now? Something like that anyway. It was a cute blog name and catchy but it doesn’t really define me and the chaotic crazy contents of a lunchbox no longer thrill me. I realize this means you also might have to change the title in the link on your blog if you happen to have one. I’m sorry about that. But if you don’t change it, I don’t mind. If you know me, you know that I like change. When I was little I used to move my bedroom furniture around on a whim all by myself. I would have had all of it upside down on the ceiling if I could have. I think that is the only configuration I never did use in my child-like bedroom design planning. My point is that I like changing my header. But I think this will definitely (never say never) probably, most likely, in all certainty be the last time I change my blog name. I only changed it once before actually so in almost four years I think that’s pretty good! In that space of time I’ve changed houses, underwear, cars, wardrobes, dogs and religions. No, just kidding on that last part.

And that’s really what the change is about. We are changing. Ever changing. And that is God’s grace! We change in bad ways of course… always itching for newness. But He is also changing us “from glory to glory.” And maybe that itching for newness is something good that He put into us. After all something as basic as the seasons exist in part, not only that life might continually be in a state of growth, but also in varying states of renewal whether it’s in the dying of autumn and winter to the budding and blooming of Spring and Summer. And we are called to put off the “old” and on with the “new.” Like every good thing that He has made there is the potential for us to pervert it and turn it into something that we worship and not something through which we worship and enjoy our creator. So change and newness are good. My favorite quote of Jesus is in Revelation when He said, “Behold, I am making all things new!”

So don’t give me too hard a time for changing things up on you.  Change is good.  Newness is good.  Life is good.  God is good.  Etc.

waterlily wc

So I decided to go with the lilies for several reasons.  One of my greatest temptations is to worry and to fret and to generally be a control freak.  But Jesus has called me to a much freer and much more abundant life than the small life of worry.  He has said to us,

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

“Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will not be exhausted, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

He speaks so tenderly to us, His little flock, precious and dearly beloved.  He’s given us this little thing called The Kingdom.  And we toil and spin and turn in circles over our needs, wants and desires and we make them into items of worship when all the lilies is bloom where they are planted and look up into the heavens reminding us from whence all of our needs are fulfilled in Christ.

I also chose lilies because I love lilies.  I particularly love water lilies.  I took the picture in my header and converted it using fancy Photoshop editing tools to turn it into a watercolor-like image.  So you see, the new theme works better in so many ways.  I don’t take many pictures of lunchboxes.  But lilies?  I will never tire of taking pictures of lilies or seeing lilies in my header and I will never tire of being reminded how little a lily does to make itself so beautiful and how much more loved I am than the lilies.

As my husband reminded me today in his sermon, using the analogy of Gollum in The Lord of the Rings, I can let go of all the things in this life that I call “My Precious” (my health, my reputation, my things, my loved ones and having things go my way) and lay hold of the one who calls me beloved.  The Father sent His Precious into the world and put His Precious on the cross so that I might lay down what I called Precious and instead cling to Him and call Him My Precious.  My Precious Jesus.

I’m so thankful He is changing me.  Thanks for letting me share my experience of those changes.  And thanks for not being mad at me for changing up my blog.  And thank you God that you never change!

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

8 thoughts on “"Internet Branding" is probably wasted on me”

  1. Great new look – and I am so happy you’re back in the swing of things! I know you have learned a lot from going through these past three months – it shows in what you’re writing.

  2. sigh…….. scampering to go and change the title in my blog….
    Seriously, though, i do like the lighter look.

    See there is this verse that keeps coming back to me, in personal study, in sunday school classes…. it is one of those bugger passages that gets you every time you read… and takes on new perspective when you read it in the light of a new issue in your life. Amazing how God’s word is alive that way.

    It is for those times when we RESIST change. When we fail to yeild to a Soverign God, who has our best interests in mind.

    “You will say to me then, ‘why does He still find fault? For who has resisted His will?’ But indeed oh man who are you to relpy against God?”

    It goes on to use the analogy of us as clay and God the one who designed our very vessel.

    If he designed my vessel, He knows it’s purpose. He will ensure i will get the work i was created for done….
    All i have to do is be willing to be molded and shaped and fired into that vessel.
    That is how i like to think of change…… it is my metamorphasis into the Woman GOD wants me to be.

    Julie Coney’s last blog post..blah….blah….blah….

  3. I was just headed to bed and I thought,”I’m going to check on Nan.” I’m so glad I did! Your new blog is lovely…and I am so encouraged by all that you said. I cried when I read the quote from Revelation…”all things new.” I hate change, yet I crave it at the same time. I am a mystery to myself. I have to say that one thing hasn’t changed and that is you are still one wise lady. Thank you for sharing. I love this new look! But your words are what bring me back here again and again! 🙂

  4. Ah, friend, you speak the words that rattle in my head! I, too, like variety! In all things it seems and furniture is no exception. Now if I can just get my husband to get on board 😉 Put in a good word for me when you visit!

    I like the new name and how could I not? I have my own special Lily! While she was named after her great gma you’ve pointed out that she has an extra special meaning behind it. Isnt’ that funny? I never considered that part of it….

    Good food for thought and I look forward to furniture advice!

  5. Nancy, love the new blog name and photos. I love even more what you had to say about change and the “consider the lilies” verses. I need to read those daily myself– I should just “bind” them to myself like they did in the old days. I’ve been dealing with a lot of change issues lately and so it was good to read your posting and know I’m not the only one…

  6. Hey Nancy – thanks for writing on my blog a few weeks ago…though it took me a bit of detective work to figure out who “Nan” was. I’m glad we’ve caught up again…it’s been a really long time! Do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

    BTW – Love the new blog name!

What are your thoughts?

