Little Punks

The subtitle of this post is: WHY DO I EVEN BOTHER?!

Grandpa has all but instructed us not to get him a Christmas gift this year.  Contented people are always hard to buy for.  That’s a compliment of course.  But I had the grand idea of taking a group picture of him and the boys and having it blown up and framed for him.  The boys have some new “traveling duds” and “wedding duds” so they were going to work perfectly for the picture.  When we went purchasing said duds they all saw “Grandpa hats” and wanted them.  I couldn’t resist.  Grandpa must know that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

So, clothing-wise, I had the perfect materials to work with.  A nice balmy 10°C day, adorable children, a loving Grandpa and fancy new duds.  The only thing I didn’t have was completely complicit attitudes.  There was one fine cooperative cheerful subject, one insanely goofy hammy subject, one very wiggly and unsure of what to do in front of the camera it’s been so long subject, one angry poo-poo head subject and one really weary Grandpa subject!  You can figure out which is which…

GpaBoys1

GpaBoys2

Non-compliant subjects and all, I think we actually captured a moment quite well.

GpaBoys3

Pathetic a moment as it may have been.

Poor Grandpa looks like a deer in the headlights there.

GpaBoys4

Oh and then I added one incredibly hot, sexy pastor subject.

GpaDadBoys2

GpaDadBoys3

But the antics continued unabated.  I would have to do a lot of photoshop chopping off of heads and sticking them in different pictures to get one where everyone is smiling and looking directly at the camera.  It would look something like a photographic version of Frankenstein’s monster.

GpaDadBoys4

GpaDadBoys1

I did get a few very cute pictures…

GpaTrC

GpaTrC2

Then to punish the boys I took them around the corner… TO THE WOODSHED.  Just kidding.  I took them around the corner and took even more pictures, cruel mother that I am.  But with all of the sickness of the Fall I had not gotten around to taking Fall portraits as I usually do so I needed to get this done!

Here is Mr. Mature.  Mr. Serious.  Don’t blame him. I told him to be serious.

b2

b1

This one managed to behave for this 13 second portion of the photo shoot, thus enabling me to come away with a few fabulous pictures of him.

T4

T3

T1

T2

This guy, I like to call Cheeseburger.

Tr5

Tr4

Tr3

Tr1

Tr2

We call this one Ham Loaf.

c8

c6bw

c7

c5

c4

c2

c9

I particularly like these two baddies.  Look at those rotten little scowls.

badboys3

It did go downhill again though.

badboys5

badboys1

badboy4

badboys2

Way down hill.

badboys4

Punks.  Every one of ’em.  And I love them to pieces.

14 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nan, these are awesome!

  2. Those are all absolutely adorable! They fit the punks perfectly. I love it when they make those faces like they want to run off and not be taking pictures..but I totally understand why you kept taking the pictures anyway! I do the same thing! Many fabulous memories!

    Greta’s last blog post..Black Friday

  3. Candice Bottomley November 29, 2009 — 9:34 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh!!! Seriously! They are so, so, so, so cute! These are the best pictures! Nice work Nancy! You should be a proud mama, they are adorable. 😉

  4. We love’em too. We’re going to miss y’all while you’re away on holiday. Don’t like it too much down there 😉

  5. great shots… i think i see some of momma in the cheeseburger and hamloaf…. i have seen those mischievous eyes before!! 🙂

  6. You know your boys are adorable, right? Oh my goodness, they are cute.
    And in light of this subject matter (of your post, not my comment) you would appreciate the last picture of this post: http://www.fivewalkers.com/journal/2009/11/29/continuing-to-count-the-blessings.html I feel your picture-taking pain. Although you are MUCH (like majillions times better) at taking pictures than I am. 🙂

  7. the ones with grandpa stole my heart

    Pamela’s last blog post..Under the Weather.

  8. Absolutely precious!! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Oh Nan,
    These pictures are just beautiful! I love the bright colors and the fab personalities!!!

    What a wonderful little crew!

  10. I love those photos. Maybe Grandpa would like a collage of several (or all) of them … some of the silly ones surrounding the “deer in the headlights” picture. Or, one of those photo frames that shows a series of digital pictures.

    Some of the ones of the “line-up” looks like they are before the firing squad. (They have the cutest facial expressions … bewilderment? fear? pleading? gotta “go”??) loved ’em

  11. NANCY! OMGosh…these are fantastic. What a gorgeous little crew you have there. Those grandpa hats are perfect. Grandpa must have been pretty proud!

    Charlene Austin’s last blog post..Dee Wannabee

  12. Your boys are absolutely adorable! Great pictures!

    Amber’s last blog post..Amber, Meet Ree. Ree, Amber.

  13. These are great photos. The first one is my favorite!! I love the little smirk on “Grandpa’s” face!! 🙂

  14. Great pics! They look like they are straight out of the Little Rascals!

    Have a great trip!
    See you soon!

What are your thoughts?

