All Praises Sing!

I wrote this poem this afternoon using (almost exclusively) hymn titles and lyrics.

All Praises Sing
By Nancy Doud

And can It BeAmazing Grace that does Abide With Me?
Arise, my soul Arise! Awake My Soul and see!
Be Still My Soul for Beams of Heaven Ten Thousand Times Ten Thousand,
How Brightly Shines the Morning Star, amidst the Angel Band!

All That I Am, Approach My Soul the Mercy Seat indeed,
For All the Saints Alas and Did My precious Savior Bleed!

Not What My Hands Have Done, no Nothing In My Hands I Bring,
Oh for Nothing But the Blood of Jesus A Thousand Tongues to Sing!

O Lord, Our Lord in All the Earth I Sing the Mighty Power,
Come Thou Fount and Give Reviving, I Need Thee Every Hour!

O Love That Will Not Let Me Go, Out of the Deep I Call,
I Love Thee Lord Jesus, My Lord, My God, My All!
Under the Shelter of Your Wings I know All Must Be Well,
Hear Our Prayer, Hear Our Cry! Heal Us Emmanuel!

Come Ye Sinners, Come Ye Weary, Come Christians Join to Sing
Beneath the Cross of Jesus, the Everlasting King!
Let Us Love and Sing and Wonder of My Maker and My King!

We Worship Thee, Almighty Lord, Thou Whose Almighty Word,
The Church’s One Foundation is,
My Lord, My Life, My Way, My End.
For Lo He Comes, Our Gracious Savior,
Jesus, The Sinner’s Friend!

Other poems I’ve written over the past few years:

All Things New

Legos

On Earth

4 thoughts on “All Praises Sing!”

  1. Nan, sweet reminders of eternal truths. My heart grieves today for a friend who lost a sweet baby to cancer this very day, and your poem reminds me of all that is TRUE!
    Thanks again for brightening a sad day with your creativity!
    With love – Jen

  2. Wow! That’s really something! I’m sure it took a great deal of work. Well done.

    Glad you enjoy the old hymns. If you’d like to read a bit about their background, check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns. And if you’re looking for information on Christmas music, consider my book on the subject, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. It contains background and meditations on over 60 carols and Christmas hymns.

What are your thoughts?

