Worry…

If you are like me you deal with worry now and then.  Lately I have had a lot of stuff on my plate.  There’s the every day stuff and then there’s all the internal stuff.  And the internal stuff is what has my mind racing and wondering and worrying.

As I’ve been busily mulling things over in my mind I’ve been simultaneously working on a neat project that I conjured up last Summer.  It’s a project that involves a lot of poetry.  I will eventually be able to share this project with you but it’s still in process and I am not saying anything more.  So I’ve been treating my worry with three things recently; scripture, prayer and poetry.  I’m praying a lot.  And reading scripture more.  And then internalizing what I’m learning by writing a poem of some sort.  I’m pretty sure this is a genetic trait.  More on that later.

Here is the last poem I wrote, inspired by Psalm 139.

Nothing is hidden from you,
maker of all that I see.
You do what pleases you
and what is best for me.

You’ve searched within me
and you know each thought
Your hand is upon me
in you I’m happily caught.

Flying to the heights
I remain in your care
sinking to the depths
I am safe from the snare.

In the darkest of night
By you I’ll be found
Very light of very light
by darkness unbound.

As I was created
your hand worked its arts,
your spirit pervaded
my innermost parts.

Lord, you have numbered
each one of my days
Your eyes never slumbered
You’re worthy of praise.

Lord, your thoughts are beyond me–
our ways highly contrasting.
Take all my anxiety
Lead in your way everlasting.

Do you ever write poetry?

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Beautiful, Nan! Ps. 139 is my favorite psalm!! I trust the Lord will continue to quiet your heart in those moments when most needed as you take everything to the throne of grace. 🙂

  2. Beautiful poem! I’ll have to check out that Psalm – I worry all the time and am constantly trying to put it all in His hands… not always successful with that, though.

    Dot O’s last blog post..Who Were Yours?

  3. I always love reading what you have written, poetry and otherwise.
    I write, too. Somehow it helps. Do you have particular Scripture you go to when in need, or do you just pick it up and read it? Worry and fear are two biggies for me.

What are your thoughts?

