This World is Not My Home…

AB earth exit exit

This world is not my home, I’m just a passin’ through
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?
The Angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
and I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

I know I’m not the only one that feels that way.  First of all because… well, there was a song written about it so at least one other person has felt that way.  But I think really, everyone feels like this at some point or another.  Maybe frequently even.  There is always a sense of not belonging or that things are not really as they should be because we innately know there is something more… someplace right… a lasting home.  It’s as indelible as the restlessness we feel “until we find our rest in Him.”

Once again we are being reminded of just where our ultimate home is.  After almost seven years living here in Canada, which certainly encompasses the whole life of this blog, we are now preparing to move.  Where to?  We don’t know yet but God has clearly been making known to us that He is calling us elsewhere and as His sheep we must follow Him.

The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.

Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.

He tends his flock like a shepherd:
He gathers the lambs in his arms
and carries them close to his heart;
he gently leads those that have young.

After months of prayer and wrestling, after seeking much wisdom, prayer and guidance from older and wise Christians and elders, my husband has tendered his resignation with our church.  This decision was not an easy one to make.  This is the place we have lived the longest in our married life so it is more home to us than any place we have lived together.  It is where our kids have largely grown up and where two of them were born.  We have many dear, dear friends here whom we will miss greatly.  But when the Shepherd goes ahead of us and leads us out, we must follow Him because we know His tender voice and we know He is a good shepherd who will not lead us into a thicket.  We know He will gently lead us and carry us and our children close to His heart.  He knows the vulnerability and fears that can take hold of those that are not just following but following while caring for little ones.

We need your prayers as we seek God’s guidance and provision for the next steps in our lives, for where He may be calling us to minister.  We have one possibility that we are especially praying for.  I won’t mention it specifically but it is an opportunity that would bring us a great deal of joy should God choose to grant it to us. With it remaining unnamed I would ask that you pray that God would grant this desire of our hearts and grant us patience to wait for His answers and grace to accept them one way or another.

I’m confident in this;  God always has the best in mind for those that belong to Him.  So we are perfectly safe in His care.

A friend’s husband shared an allegory recently on his blog. It’s about Pioneer Theology and Settlers Theology.  There is a certain sense of adventure in the Pioneer way of thinking… and a certain sense of wonder as the Pioneer is never quite sure where his next meal is coming from.  But if they stick with the Buffalo Hunter, they will always be fed.  So we are following the Buffalo Hunter… er… the Good Shepherd.  And we will see how He provides.

Pray for us if you think about it.  We appreciate all prayers.  Many times people say things like, “I can’t do anything so I’ll just pray.”  But friends, prayer is a concrete activity.  We are speaking to the creator of the universe, our audience of One.  We have His ear and as my then three year old said it, “His heart is big towards us.”

We are resting in the bigness of His heart towards us.  For that is the one place we will always call home.

12 thoughts on “This World is Not My Home…”

  1. I, too, will be waiting patiently and eagerly to see what God has in store for you. Whatever it is, it’ll be good! And believe me, I’m praying!

  2. It’s exciting and a little scary when God leads us out of our comfort zone! Waiting to hear about your move and praying for wisdom and direction!

    All for HIM~
    Kelly Rackley
    (in AR, then OK, then Uganda)

  3. So I just caught up on your blog a bit, and I love this post! It truly captures how I feel at times…a pilgrim, a sojourner, a stranger here. But it’s God’s precious way of reminding us to hope and that redemption gets far better. 🙂 Excited to see what doors He will open and lead you through!

  4. Love this Nan. Nope we should get too comfortable and settled, because it’s true, we never know when the Shepherd will prompt us into new territory. I’m so thankful that we are fellow pilgrims, as well as sisters! Praying for more than we can ask or imagine!

  5. Of course I will (continue to, actually) pray for you in this specific request this week! God has been using you to minister to me many times now, and I am so thankful for it. Please continue to honestly and openly share your heart; not many people can do that, and it is a true testimony for others.

  6. i’ve been where you are. 6 years ago, my hubby and i moved from the only home we’d known as a married couple. we had lived there 7 years. i can testify that God is faithful and good!
    praying for you in this time of transition!

  7. OMGoodness! You are really really doing it! I can’t say I am not sad but I am really happy for you! Exciting stuff and to be honest after seeing your family Christmas pics I didn’t know how you could be here in Canada much longer. The great thing about this blog world is we will always be able to stay friends even if it means we can’t hang out in person. Hugs to you my dear.

    Charlene Austin’s last blog post..Loonie Stampers Challenge #81

What are your thoughts?

