If you want to grow in your prayer life….

I highly recommend the Valley of Vision. It’s written in an old style but it is so very rich. So very convicting.

It has to be one of my all time favorite books next to the Bible.

The Awakened Sinner

Oh, my forgetful soul,
Awake from thy wandering dream;
turn from chasing vanities,
look inward, forward, upward,
view thyself,
reflect upon thyself,
who and what thou art, why here,
what thou must soon be.

Thou art a creature of God
formed and furnished by him,
lodged in a body like a shepherd in his tent;
dost thou not desire to know God’s ways?

Oh God,
Thou injured, neglected, provoked benefactor,
when I think upon thy greatness and thy goodness
I am ashamed at my insensibility,
I blush to lift up my face,
for I have foolishly erred.
Shall I go on neglecting thee,
when every one of thy rational creatures should love thee,
and take every care to please thee?
I confess that thou has not been in all my thoughts,
that the knowledge of thyself as the end of my being
has been strangely overlooked,
that I have never seriously considered my heart-need.
But although my mind is perplexed and divided, my nature perverse,
yet my secret dispositions still desire thee.
Let me not delay to come to thee!
Break the fatal enchantment that binds my evil affections,
and bring me to a happy mind that rests in thee,
for thou hast made me and canst not forget me.
Let thy Spirit teach me the vital lessons of Christ,
for I am slow to learn;
And hear thou my broken cries!

The Convicting Spirit

Thou blessed Spirit, Author of all Grace and Comfort,
Come, work repentance in my soul;
Represent sin to me in its odious colours that I may hate it;
Melt my heart by the majesty and mercy of God;
Show me my ruined self and the help there is in him;
Teach me to behold my creator,
his ability to save,
his arms outstretched
his heart big for me.
May I confide in his power and love,
commit my soul to him without reserve,
bear his image, observe his laws, pursue his service
and be through time and eternity
a monument to the efficacy of his grace,
a trophy of his victory.
Make me willing to be saved in his way,
perceiving nothing in myself, but all in Jesus:
Help me not only to receive him but
to walk in him,
depend upon him,
commune with him,
be conformed to him,
follow him

imperfect but still pressing forward,
not complaining of labour, but valuing rest,
not murmuring under trials, but thankful for my state.
Give me that faith with is the means of salvation,
and the principle and medium of all godliness;
May I be saved by grace through faith,
live by faith,
feel the joy of faith,
DO the work of faith.
Perceiving nothing in myself, may I find in Christ
wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, redemption.

Oh and please listen to this song which is taken from this amazing book as well. It’s one of my current faves as I always have it in my head.

One thought on “If you want to grow in your prayer life….”

  1. our Pastor reads these to us in our Sunday School class each week. He has read them to the youth when they are on retreats…. I will have to wholeheartedly agree with my eldest son, who after hearing one of these puritan prayers… sighed and said…. wow, I sure hope I can pray like that someday.

    May all our prayers exalt God in such a manner as these puritan patriarchs, who now stand as part of our own “cloud of witnesses”

    Julie Coney’s last blog post..Looking a bit deeper into Psalm 23

What are your thoughts?

