Favorite flowers…

This is my Mom’s favorite house plant.  She inherited it several years back from her lovely Auntie Martha who went to be with Jesus a few years ago.  This is the first year that this house plant has bloomed since it’s been at my Mom’s house.  And she can’t get enough of it.  I can’t blame her.  It is rather stunning.

flower8

flower7

flower6

flower5

flower4

flower3

flower2

flower1

Roses are always a favorite.  But in my Mom’s front yard they are also the deer’s favorite.  As a salad.  A fact which makes all of the local rose enthusiasts less than enthusiastic about Bambi.

rose2

And unfortunately roses have other less friendly admirers also.

snail1

Okay… I know snails represent everything evil in the gardening world.  And I should hate them will all my being and revel in the sound of their shells being crushed underfoot.  But I’m sorry.

They are cute.  Okay?  There.  I said it.  Snails are cute.  Cute wild crazed flower eating vermin that are cute.  And slimy and disgusting and supposedly taste fabulous in garlic and butter.  But I think I’d rather relish hearing them crunch under my foot than between my teeth, thank you very much.

Rose Bush Bokeh.  No, not bouquet.  Bokeh.  Out of focusness wonderfulness.  I’m lovin’ the bokeh of roses.  Photographers sometimes like bokehs better than bouquets.

bokeh

Bud bokeh is nice too.

rosebud

rose1

And poppies…. as an aside I have to tell you, every time I go to type “poppies” I accidentally type “poopies” first and then have to correct it.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it has something to do with being the mother of four boys who like to make farting sounds in their armpits. (As an aside aside, my four year old today told me that he was growing hair in his armpits.  Clearly he has not bathed enough this week if there are hairlike objects in his armpits.) Or maybe my recurring typo when typing “poppies” happens just because O and P are so perilously close to one another on the keyboard.  What I was going to say was, AND poppies.  Everyone loves poppies.  What’s not to love?  They are bright and cheerful and blanket California landscapes.  They are always a favorite.

poppies dry brush

But my favorite?  The ones from my baby of course.

flowersfromC

poppies from my baby


5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What is that house plant? It’s amazing! Last year, Hannah brought a couple of snails into our family. They are actually easy to take car of but they are poopie! No kidding. I’ve eaten them before, and they really are delicious(not crunchy at all), though I don’t know that I would cook the ones from the yard 😀

    MamaTina’s last blog post..Project 52: Would You Rather?

  2. Not only is the bloom beautiful, the photographs are as well. Great job, Nan. The plant is a bromeliad but there are hundreds of varieties and I don’t which variety this one is.

  3. Beautiful plants and pictures! I’m anxiously awaiting our peonies to arrive. Their buds are threatening and my camera is broken, but I’ll still delight in their splendor when they arrive!

    Dana’s last blog post..Building memories down by the crick

  4. What a good ending!! 🙂
    You are funny with your typos…I always, ALWAYS type a “y” in between an “o” and a “u”…so “serioyus” for example. It is weird.
    At least it’s just fart noises your (see? I just typed “yoyur”. Serioyusly. I have a problem.) I cooked some broccoli today and it is lingering. It smells like a Very Large Person came into my house and ripped one or twenty-eight. I don’t know if I can sleep here tonight. Although, what will happen is that I’ll get used to it, but leave the house tomorrow smelling like I just had fun wallowing in a large cow patty.
    Aren’t you so glad I left this comment?

  5. Wow! What is that first flower? It’s absolutely amazing!

    Screwed Up Texan’s last blog post..Take Me Out to the Ballgame for Mothers Day

What are your thoughts?

