Long Time No Blog

It really has been a long time. Of course it looks even longer because one day I accidentally deleted my entire blog (insert minor myocardial infarction here) and then 15 minutes later, thanks to the wonderful tech. support at Bluehost.com (aka. internet defibrillators), it was all back online and I only lost one post in the whole episode.

That post was the one where I told you that my sleep jerks were back. As far as I know they are still a problem but I am finding some relief through some over-the-counter sleep aids and homeopathic remedies. I hate that I am having to take this but I’ve got a very strong feeling based on the research I’ve done (which very strongly points to a disorder called propriospinal myoclonus of sleep onset) that anything I’d be prescribed would be a good deal stronger, more addictive and have much worse side-effects.  Thankfully I have insurance now and will hopefully be able to get more comprehensive care.

Until I discovered the meds that help I was having a really rough time.  I am totally fine when I am able to get good sleep but when the jerks make falling asleep like skipping a rock over sleep half the night I am a wreck the next day.  So until we find out if there is a better solution, nightly remedies are my friends because I am a happy, and whole feeling wife and Mom.  Please continue to pray for full and complete healing.  From my research people can suffer with this off and on for decades.

A few weeks ago we made a day trip to San Francisco.  It was a lovely but hot day, only made less enjoyable by heavy traffic (and hence trouble parking) and a passing naked man riding a bicycle. (Seriously.  I don’t care what anyone says… that can NOT be comfortable.)

First we ate a simple sandwich picnic at Golden Gate Park.

ggp boys2

ggp boys

ggp b

We were pleasantly surprised by the miniature yacht club activity at the pond.

mini sailboat

Oh look.  A hot hunky man.  He’s mine.

ggp shawn

We were thoroughly entertained by the turtle pile…

TurtlesAllTheWayDown

and in awe of their balancing skills…

I couldn’t help thinking about “turtles all the way down” when we saw them all piled up like this.  Do you know what I’m referring to?

A well-known scientist (some say it was Bertrand Russell) once gave a public lecture on astronomy. He described how the earth orbits around the sun and how the sun, in turn, orbits around the center of a vast collection of stars called our galaxy. At the end of the lecture, a little old lady at the back of the room got up and said: “What you have told us is rubbish. The world is really a flat plate supported on the back of a giant tortoise.” The scientist gave a superior smile before replying, “What is the tortoise standing on?” “You’re very clever, young man, very clever”, said the old lady. “But it’s turtles all the way down!”[1]

TurtleYoga4

turtles1

One or two of them in particular were getting all Zen on us with their fancy Yoga moves.

Head Turtle 2

He was very focused.

YogaTurtle

He held this pose for a long time.  I stink at Yoga.  I could learn something from the turtles.

YogaTurtle2

Such grace.

YogaTurtle

I was also able to grab some super cute pics of my boys while they were playing in a huge Eucalyptus tree.  I love Eucalyptus trees.  They are the smell of my childhood.

Btree4

Ttree3

TrTree3

ctree2

I love boys playing in trees.  Look at that face.

Ttree2

ttree1

btree3

ctree1

btree1

In the last few weeks we’ve crossed all but one of the bridges that cross the bay.  This is the Bay Bridge.

Bay Bridge 5

Bay Bridge4

homelessman baybridge

baybridge

And lastly here we are at Pier 39 which I’ve decided is only really fun if you have enough money to ride the merry-go-round and buy very expensive ice cream.  Also worth it if you really love clam chowder (which I don’t.)  But perhaps I’m jaded by how many times I’ve been there in my life.  And by the fact that it was really hot and extremely crowded on this day.

itsgoodtobeking

pier39boys

I guess it’s also worth it if you want some nice pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge.

GGB sailboat

GGBridge1

And I finally got a picture of me with my boys.  These are rare as I’m usually the one behind the camera.

Nan and the boys

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m so sorry you’re having sleep troubles again. The photos are so lovely – you’ve got a great talent! And love that Bertrand Russell story.

  2. Great pics! Esp love that last panorama pic of the Golden Gate bridge, poster perfect!

    Christina Chung’s last blog post..I’m a horrible mother…

  3. Your family is beautiful!!

  4. Sorry to hear about the night time troubles. I hope they are a distant memory soon.
    We have a pet turtle, much like the ones at the pond and she does amazing things like that under the water as well as on her little floating island. It must be comfie to stretch their legs that way 😀

    MamaTina’s last blog post..Project Date Night: 2012 and Perspective

What are your thoughts?

