Africa on the Brain

As a great author once penned,

Africa
Africa Africa
Africa Africa Africa
Africa Africa
Africa

I have been reading, for the past few months, that author’s most beautiful books about one of the most charming, I believe, characters ever developed, a lady detective in Botswana.  I just bought (last night after dinner out with my husband) and subsequently finished (just after noon) the last of the series (so far anyway) today.

I’m sad now.  What will I do without those characters?  I suppose my only choice is to read all of his other books now and immerse myself in some other society about which I know relatively little (to nothing) and fall in love with another cast of characters.  I’m not sure it will be the same though.

This morning, just before I read the last 99 pages in the following three hours, I made myself some hot cereal.  I dressed it up how I liked it and brought it in to the table and sat down to eat it.  I picked up my spoon and was about to dig in when I did a double take and then screamed, “MY CEREAL IS IN THE SHAPE OF AFRICA!!!!!” And I only use that many exclamation marks to express the amount of flabbergastion in my voice, not to suggest that my observation was any truer than it actually was.

Just look.

Africa Obsession Confirmed

It was just one of those things that makes you suddenly scream out in surprise.  I’m sure you know the type of things I’m talking about.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You crack me up – love the pic! While this has nothing to do with Africa, it has something to do with what I’ve been doing with myself lately: copy editing. Yes, been trying my hand at it (co-editing with another lady-both author and co-editor were former teachers of my daughter) with a friend’s self-published book. So if you want a quick read in between other things, please visit ToniWestbrooks.com
    The entire first chapter is online. See if it interests you. 🙂

  2. That is just too much.
    And I hate it when good books end! I don’t want to finish them.

  3. Now that is scary. ha ha

    Pamela’s last blog post..The Anemones Still Bloom

What are your thoughts?

