Foreshadowed and Fulfilled

God has been so good in teaching me (and making me delight in His teaching) the beauty of the constancy of scripture. How everything in the old and New Testaments point to Christ.  If one were to try to make an exhaustive list one would write several volumes of books I think (and I’m sure they have tried).  The little glimpses are enough to blow me away though.

Foreshadowed:
And I will have mercy on No Mercy,
and I will say to Not My People, ‘You are my people’;
and he shall say, ‘You are my God.’”

Fulfilled:

“You are a chosen race…
a holy nation…
Once you were not a people
but now you are God’s people;
once you had not received mercy,
but now you have received mercy.”

Foreshadowed:
For the priests of God
this shall be their inheritance:
I am their inheritance:
and you shall give them
no possession in Israel;
I am their possession.

Fulfilled:
“You yourselves like living stones
are being built up as a spiritual house,
to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual
sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ….
you are a royal priesthood”

“In him we have obtained an inheritance…”

Foreshadowed:
“Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage,
and the ends of the earth your possession.
Serve the Lord with fear,
and rejoice with trembling.”

Fulfilled:
“You are a holy nation,
a people for his own possession
that you may proclaim the excellencies
of him who called you out of darkness
into his marvelous light.”

“And he was given authority over every tribe,
people, language and nation.”

“And they sang a new song, saying,
“Worthy are you to take the scroll and
to open its seals, for you were slain,
and by your blood you ransomed people
for God from every tribe and language
and people and nation”

Foreshadowed:
“You shall allot it as an inheritance for yourselves
and for the sojourners who reside among you
and have had children among you.
They shall be to you as native-born children of Israel.
With you they shall be allotted an inheritance
among the tribes of Israel.”

Fulfilled:
“For the promise is for you and for your children
and for all who are far off, everyone whom the
Lord our God calls to himself.”

Foreshadowed:
“And in the last days it shall be, God declares,
that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh
and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,
and your young men shall see visions,
and your old men shall dream dreams;”

Fulfilled:
“And suddenly there came from heaven
a sound like a mighty rushing wind,
and it filled the entire house where they were sitting.
And divided tongues as of fire appeared to them
and rested on each one of them.
And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit
and began to speak in other tongues
as the Spirit gave them utterance.”

Foreshadowed:
And it shall come to pass that everyone
who calls upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

Fulfilled:
“Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”
And they said, “Believe in the Lord Jesus,
and you will be saved, you and your household.”

Betrothal:
And I will betroth you to me forever. I will
betroth you to me in righteousness and in
justice, in steadfast love and in mercy.
I will betroth you to me in faithfulness.
And you shall know the LORD.

Consummation:
And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem,
coming down out of heaven from God,
prepared as a bride for her husband….

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Really beautiful reminders…do you use a study, or just go through on your own? It’s been a very long time since I did anything, and I feel it. Just curious what helps you with your studies (wrong word perhaps, but maybe not).

What are your thoughts?

