A Day in San Francisco

GGB SF

I was thinking back today on how many times we just up and decided to go to the mountains near Banff for a day out.  I’m so thankful that for the several years God has put us in such gorgeous places that beautiful day trips were totally within the realm of possibility.  I sometimes miss the splendor of the Canadian Rockies (though I don’t miss the snow or bitter cold much yet) and I definitely miss my friends that I left behind there, but I am thankful that God has surrounded us with family and once again put us in a beautiful location, surrounded by both God-created and man-created beauty.

SF4

We did some school this morning and then took a spontaneous field trip to San Francisco.  I took a ton of pictures of course so I’ll try to share them over the next few days.

For now I just want to share some of the pictures from Coit Tower on Telegraph Hill, a monument erected in honor of the local fire department at the bequest of Lillie Hitchcock Coit, a local socialite, who loved to chase fires and see all the action — something like my Mom in that way (who doesn’t really chase fire engines but would probably ride along if she could… she gets it from her Dad.)

Here’s good ol’ Lillie, the Fire Lady.

ct7

Out front there is a statue of Christopher Columbus.

ct statue

coit2

coit1

I grew up here in the Bay Area but had never actually been to Coit Tower.  It’s a lovely vantage point from which to see the city. Unfortunately we weren’t able to go up inside as the elevators are being serviced for a while.  One day we’ll head back and go to the top. Even though we couldn’t go up, the thing I loved most about it was the interior in the vestibule which was covered in beautiful murals depicting California’s rich history (It’s hard for me to say “rich” and “California” in the same sentence at this point in time but well… it was a rich history.)  I just love the colors, the variety of scenes that are depicted and the facial expressions.

ct1

ct2

ct3

ct5

ct6

ct8

ct10

ct11

ct12

ct13

ct14

ct15

ct16

ct17

ct18

ct19

ct20

ct22

ct21

ct23

ct24

ct25

ct26

ct27

Whatever else may be said about San Francisco, it is a beautiful city.

ct plaque

May we all be committed to causing our home towns and cities to become more beautiful places through our creativity and appreciation for beauty, given to us by our creator, the one who defines beauty and the one who has called us, His Church, to be a city — a city on a hill.

What are your thoughts?

