Such fun…

Those of you who have been reading my blog since the beginning (which I realize is probably a very small number at this point because I’m not the most daily of bloggers) know that ever since she started her blog, (I think that’s the first time I linked her) I have adored Ree.  I “knew” her from a homeschooling message board back before she had a blog.  Once she started blogging (I hit the link that first day that she shared it with the Well Trained Mind forums and have been to her site pretty much every day since) and I found out how funny she was (I remember her “poetry of a mad woman” days and her “junk drawer” giveaways), I knew that this woman would be published.  And I remember telling her so many times back when she actually got about 10-20 comments per post as opposed to 3,000.  You probably also know that I have had the privilege of working for her doing some behind the scenes little jobs (super fun, enjoyable little jobs) off and on over the past few years.  When you “visit” with someone online for so many years and when you actually do e-mail them here and there, you begin to feel like you know them.  But then part of Ree’s appeal is that she is so real — so genuine — that I’m pretty sure everyone feels like they know her!

So it feels strange to write, “I met Ree tonight,” because it hardly seems like we hadn’t met.  But I joined the throngs of fans and friends and went to her book signing in San Francisco tonight and had a ball.  My darling hot pastor came along with me because he is not ashamed to say he is a daily reader of The Pioneer Woman.  What a man.  Hunka hunka burnin’ love who does not in fact have a side pony “Deb tail,” though one might be convinced that this is the case.  That lovely mane belongs to another attendee at the book signing who happened to be taking nourishment in the neighboring booth at Max’s.

shawn2
I digress.

Happily we were able to secure babysitting (thanks Mom!) and headed over around 3:00.  We found the book shop and then ate at the super yummy restaurant next door (Max’s).  I had the most amazing salad — greens, roasted beets (yellow and purple), avocados, corn, feta, in a lemon vinaigrette etc., etc. Pretty much all the things I love and none of the things I hate.  Yummo.

Here’s the early crowd.

the early crowd

We got to the book store before 5 and were able to get our “line tickets” early so we were in the first 60 to be able to visit with her.  She came out and answered questions for about 30 minutes.  She did a fabulous job even though she hates public speaking.  She gave so many gracious and lovely answers to the questions put to her.  We loved her answer to a question about marriage tips. My hot pastor got part of it on video. When she was done I almost said, “Amen” aloud… but then she did so I didn’t have to.

She is not afraid to just be herself and be just as honest as she can be.  I’m pretty sure her approachability is why she is loved by so many.  She doesn’t strike one as an untouchable aloof individual.  She lives right here with us on planet earth.  That is why people love her so.  I’m sure it doesn’t hurt that she is a hoot (in the best sense of the word!)

Excuse the graininess of these photos, low light and not the greatest ISO capabilities. I had my point and shoot with me because I didn’t want to lug around “the beast” as I like to call my real camera.

ree4

ree2

ree3

There were a lot of people.   I would estimate a good 250 or so at least (hard to judge). This is a small slice!

rbs2

rbs1

I really wanted to jump the line and just go give my buddy a hug but I decided that would be pretty tacky so I waited in line like a good girl should. My lovely hot pastor went and got his overheated lady some ice water while she waited in line because that room was HOT and very crowded.

I don’t know what I’m doing here but I know that I was not picking my nose. It wasn’t a pick! It was a scratch! (Name that T.V. show)

nan ree 2

I know my hunky hot hubster was feeling special since the life of the party knew him and wouldn’t stand for just a handshake but required a hug. :^) I told him she probably would. She’s a southern girl. Southerners hug. When we lived in Calgary I always knew when I had just met a southerner, and not just because of the accent, but because I had just been hugged.

So, if you’re not a lip reader, she’s saying “Hey Shawn!”

hey Shawn

shawn nan ree

Please forgive me friends, for I have sinned.  I have shamelessly cut off half of my arm loaf so that you don’t have to be blinded by its whiteness or proportions.  I hope you don’t find this terribly deceptive.  I’m not in denial.  I’ve been doing the 30 Day Shred and getting my butt kicked by Jillian Michaels but, well… I don’t have to expose my arm loaves to the world until I’m emotionally ready.  And I think that might coincide, as far as timing is concerned, with when they are somewhat smaller.

Nan and Ree

So there you have it. I finally met my lovely friend.

5 thoughts on “Such fun…”

  1. Soooo fun! I am really glad you got to meet your good friend in person. Do you know that I started reading your blog when I read about the Limoge (is that right) that you got for her, in memory of Nell? I thought that was the sweetest thing.

  2. That’s wonderful! I’ve been a faithful reader of Pioneer Woman for awhile now, it would be fun to see her in person 🙂 (and I totally understand editing out certain things in our photos, although we do enjoy seeing that we are all not happy with certain things. I have awful acne 2 weeks a month recently as well as a double chin, not great)

What are your thoughts?

