Bring on the Rain?

Someone this morning posited the question;

“If you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain”.  Anyone else think this applies to home educating? How?

The rainbow… A sign of God’s promise not to destroy us all…. yes, I need that regularly.  We are a testy bunch.  The rain of trials and testing wash us, renew us and bring new life as it softens that which was hard and crusty… it makes brittle things vulnerable and sensitive.  It makes dead things new.  It pushes all of the creep crawlies up to the surface.

The rain.  It inundates me and fills me so that I’m like a bloated used scouring sponge that when it is squeezed by the One who washes… I am squeezed of all the yucky, dead and smelly things I’ve been holding onto for dear life and I am left only being held by the hand that squeezed me dry that I might once more be filled up with Him, dripping with His grace, His words of truth, His goodness, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.

Yes, I want the rain… in homeschooling, in parenting, in wifing, in working, daughtering and sistering, in church-membering, in doing life… I want the rain. And the rainbows, when they come, are just reminders that in all of the torrential storms and vulnerability of being wrung-out again and again — He will not destroy me but He is simply emptying me of my  pride, my anger and my self-worship in order to fill me to overflowing with His Spirit — His glory!  Yes, Lord… bring on the rain and then always remind me of your promises so that I might soak up your glory that when I am wrung out again, not only will my sorrows and sins be wrung out but that the praises of my God and thankfulness for His ways, that worship might pour out, and that mercy and love might overflow as well so as to get all over those who are around me.

Rain. Fill. Empty. Hear His promises. Overflow. Repeat.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Ps. 23.5

What are your thoughts?

