Hectic Life Means Dinner Suffers

Last night, I got home from Blissdom and was exhausted in every way. Top that off with the fact that I was sick. I think gastroenteritis is the culprit. Ugh. I did not want to cook and hubby had just done 5 days solo with our 4+1 kids and wasn’t up to cooking either. My comfort food happens to be Wonton Soup. So that is what we picked up on the way home from the airport. (Unfortunately my tummy wasn’t even inclined to agree that Wonton Soup was comforting. The NERVE!!)

The truth is that lately (and my whole family can attest to this) I have not felt the Oomph to cook. Not so much the cooking part (as much) as the thinking about cooking part. Too much on my plate (no pun intended).

I actually like to cook. But I have to want to cook to like to cook. And to want to cook I have to not be mentally and/or physically exhausted. Most days it seems like I don’t want to cook and hence don’t like to cook anymore. This makes me sad because I’m actually a good cook. I’m just a deflated cook.

Fortunately I married a man who enjoys and knows how to cook and even enjoys learning new recipes and experimenting. This eases the burden a good bit. Still… he’s busy and tired a lot too and often the hardest part for both of us is just figuring out WHAT to eat, not even WHO will cook it.

My sister has been bugging me to get on a weekly meal plan for a while because it helps her sanity. So today I finally did it. The Organized Cook was at Blissdom. That must have just been a message from above that it was time.

So, we just signed up for a weekly plan that I hope will help us work this out and actually feed our family regularly and healthily without so much agonizing at around… oh, say, 5 p.m.

3 thoughts on “Hectic Life Means Dinner Suffers”

  1. I’m doing a little catching up on your blog…this sounds great! I am a meal-planning failure. I hate to even try anymore, because there are always issues. The picture of that lady juggling everything while looking so lovely made me giggle. She is even wearing pearls. 😉
    I wish we could sit down and chat over a warm beverage and some carbish treat. 🙂 I always feel like I’m listening to a good friend when I read your posts. I hope you are getting to feeling better, and am looking forward to reading all about your trip!!

    P.S. I am the all-time worst when it comes to dinner. Every night I’m like,”Seriously? It’s dinnertime?” Helloooo!! It happens every day…what is wrong with me?!

    1. @Christina, I can’t even tell you how much I relate. Really. Oh, did I just blog about it?! So maybe you know. But it’s sorta nice to know I’m not the only one who is offended by the daily need to cook. And then I remember I better shut up and cook because some people don’t have a grocery store across the street or a refrigerator full of food… or a cupboard at all.

      P.S. I wish the same thing. Someday, yes?

What are your thoughts?

