Catch my breath


Do you mind if I
catch my breath and try
just to quantify
all that’s
going on?
‘Cause I’m lost
and found
and this train
is bound
for a land
beyond
by and by.
But I can’t
tell where I am
and I can’t
say why
I know I’m
fine.
I just know
I am.
When you know,
you know.
The tracks
just take you
there
through the golden air,
past the prairie-land
to a grander plan
in the sky.
You don’t have to
go
He just takes
you there
as you hold
His hand
and pray.
But I lose my breath
standing
toward the wind,
tears sting
my cheeks
and I close my eyes
and I turn my
face
and I say a prayer
asking for all
grace.
The view
can be great
from the front
seat of grace
but can feel
like death
at a deafening
pace
as fields
go by
blurred
with the sky
and the light
that streaks
from the
speed
smeared
streets.
I’ll let you have
your way
with me
and
give myself
to you
alone.
Before you
I’m undone
and
I’m done
asking why,
all I can do
is cry,
Just let me
catch my
breath
and
sigh.
I’m yours.

What are your thoughts?

