The long awaited swing.

Summer is so lovely. I know it’s not technically summer yet but it’s acting like it so I’m going to just go ahead and go with it like I did with Calgary and winter. It may have been late May but if it was acting like winter (ie. snowing) I still called it winter. I’m such a rebel, I know. Next, I’m going to get a tattoo of Brainy Smurf on my right bicep.

My summer so far has consisted of gardening, ramping up my wedding schedule, thinking about chickens, gardening, making plans for homeschooling next year, spending one on one time with Pinterest, gardening, cooking with my kids, gardening and gardening. And playing in the dirt. Also gardening.

And the boys and their cousins have had fun going in the not-so-hot tub on hot days.

My boys have been living out doors, making stuff, pounding nails into anything they can and getting sufficiently dirty as boys are intended to do. They have created a homeless encampment hideout in the backyard that has walls made out of oversized cardboard boxes, carpet scraps nailed (yes, nailed! OY!) to trees, tarps for ceilings and lawn chairs for furniture. This boy’s heaven, situated near the old junk-hauling trailer in what I call The Zone of Shame in the backyard, has been dubbed The Ultimate Hangout.

The only thing that was needed was a tire swing. The boys had bought high quality rope several weeks back in the patient hope that they might soon find a tire. Meanwhile they used a milk-crate to have a temporary swing until the real thing was a possibility.

Yesterday, after a visit to our local hardware store, the boys went next door to an automotive repair shop and asked if they had any old tires that they wouldn’t mind giving up. Their persistence paid off and they came home with quite a prize. So last night Daddy helped them put up their swing. This morning I awoke to the sounds of children whizzing around in circles, squealing with delight.

It’s going to be a great summer.

2 thoughts on “The long awaited swing.”

  1. Nice pics sweetie! As usual. (And if this is a really old post, you can now see how far behind I am in my Google reader.)
    Love ya!

What are your thoughts?

